We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads All Nations Hostel
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hostel was dirty, too busy and too cramped. We were only staying for the one night and im so glad that we hadnt paid for more. Beign attached to the nomads name i thought it would be quite a nice place but we were sadly disappointed. The kitchen was well thought out, lots of fridge and storage space with compartments for different peoples food and stuff, but it was gross. I dont think the kitchen had been clean for a week and the cooking equipment wasnt up to much.
You do get offered a free drink in the bar downstairs but after the one we went out to look for somwhere a little more friendly. However when we got back around 1 am there was a bloke in my bed who turns out was freeloading and had slipped in with some girl earlier on. He's moved all my stuff n decided to claim my bed as his own!!

Room Tip: go somwhere else to get the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhiannan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 245 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2011

I (19) travelled to Melbourne with my partner (21) on June 10th, 2011, and stayed the night at hotel, awaiting the arrival of our others friends, for one of their 19th birthdays.
We had all travelled down about 3 hours for the occasion, and were doing it cheap, so she could have a great night out clubbing.
So when the others arrived, aged, 20, 19, 19 and 18, we dragged our luggage up 2 flights of stairs to the reception, where a french girl couldnt even understand us.
We were then told to head up to our room, another floor, with no lifts, nothing.
We almost died when we saw the room. I understand it is a backpackers, and I have stayed in backpackers before, not only in Melbourne, but elsewhere around the world, and this was the absolute worst.
In the room, there was a fan, hanging by its cord, being held by nothing, and the room had nothing but beds, which were held together by CABLE TIES! - i think that is ILLEGAL!
We then went to inspect the place. There was one unisex bathroom, with 3 showers in it, one unusable though due to plastering falling apart all through it,
and 2 toilets, one clogged, and without a light.
LUCKILY, for the 4 of us girls, we found another LADIES only bathroom, which was alot more respectable.

We went out, and came home at around 11pm for more drinks and to rest our tired feet after dinner and some partying. Only to be rudely interupted by a memeber off staff telling us that 1) no alcholic drinks were aloud in the rooms at any time???
2) there was no drinking in the complex after 9pm???
3) that is was common sence????
and 4) that the matress we had removed from the top of one bunk bed was to be put back on(we were actually scared to get onto the bunks, considereing how they were being held together)

We were told if we had not fixed it up within 10 minutes we'd be kicked out.

We DID not enjoy our stay, and feel awful sorry for those who fall for the pictures on the internet, :(
Don't do it. There are much better in melbourne! :(

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

No free breakfast, no free beer, crowded, tram right outside window, right by lots of clubs.
But on the positive side, it was only one night and we were central the everything.
Free pasta and rice, but have to put a deposit down for pots, most of burners don't work and there are no utensils. I guess they bet on most people eating out in Melbourne.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

This is the second Nomads I've stayed at and its quite disgusting. The location is good, very close to the main train station, near the free city centre tram and there is the free tourist shuttle bus a few streets away. There is free pasta and rice in the small kitchen every night but be aware you have to pay a deposit for a pan and then wait for one of the few gas stoves to be free. In our room it was so dusty and smelly, the beds didn't have any ladders to climb up so its up to you to find a way up to your bunk without injuring yourself. The toilets and bath are unisex and very basic, even if it had been cleaned you can't tell as it is quite run down. Nomads fully admit it needs improvements at reception as it used to be a homeless shelter, it should really be shut down then done up before opening again. The tv room is ok but you can only watch films on it and no tv channels.
If you have to stay here, just use it as a base for sleeping and basic cooking but I wouldn't recommend it if you have more money available to spend on cleaner hostels.
The first night we stayed here we came back around 10pm to find around 15 people in our room drinking and having a party, i went to the reception to complain and the night manager did get rid of the people but i felt uncomfortable having any personal items in my room. The staff were nice if you needed any help and we were grateful to the night manager for doing this. they have small lockers for $2 a night which makes it a bit more comfortable. overall its an extremely basic hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyscrypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Close to the bus station. Met some great people and enjoyed my stay because of them.
Waited for 20 mins at reception on arrival. Dirty rooms, sheets look dirty as well, uncomfortable beds,noisy, dark room with no view. Showers on 3d floor-only hot water!Hot!Can't be mixed with cold at all. Told the receptionist-she recommended using showers on 2nd floor.Toilets-disgusting, had to tell receptionist there's no toilet paper.
The key to the luggage room is attached to a skateboard! (yes! a real skateboard!) Carry this with your backpack and additional/carry on bag up the stairs to unlock the room!
Good job I didn't see any spiders!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaBenli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 147 in Melbourne
622 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 147 in Melbourne
422 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#110 of 147 in Melbourne
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#107 of 147 in Melbourne
151 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#50 of 147 in Melbourne
122 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 147 in Melbourne
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads All Nations Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads All Nations Hostel

Address: 2 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $27 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads All Nations Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads All Nations Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads All Nations Hostel Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing