We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accor Hotels bombs again !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Ranked #84 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Accor Hotels bombs again !”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed in an Ibis Hotel in Paris about 20 years ago and it was very poor value.

However, when a Show plus hotel deal was advertised for Melbourne I decided to risk it even though I had no great expectations. Accor's Ibis hotel in Little Bourke Street was worse than I feared.

It began badly by the desk clerk insisting that she photograph my passport. She stated this was a "legal requirement".

Not true ! There is no legal requirement in Australia to have identity documents copied by hoteliers. In this day with identity theft rampant I refused.

The TV in the room did not work properly. I complained and was fobbed off with "It's the cranes on the nearby building site. It will be fixed next week". Not a lot of use to me as I was only staying 3 nights.

A manager later admitted that TV reception at that hotel had always been a problem.

Haven't they heard of cable ?

Hell, later in my trip I got perfect TV reception in cheap motels in outback towns most people have never heard of such as Camooweal QLD and Nyngan NSW to give just two examples.

As somebody else has mentioned here the room was microscopic.

Accor Hotels, the French owners of this poor quality hotel should up their game.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel. Only good point about this hotel is that it is close to Southern Cross railway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear CW
It is with regret that we hear that Ibis hotels do not meet your expectations and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in December.
We apologise that the Receptionist did not undertake her role in the appropriate manner and standard. This is certainly the first point of contact and we value every engagement with our guests. We have shared your comments with the team and corrected their terminology in regards to check in requirements. These terms and conditions will vary depending on how and what supplier has been used to make the reservation.

The hotel has spent a deal of time and energy working with ongoing enhancements with the TV reception. Additional work has been carried out during January and this has improved the service.
The hotel is centrally located close to Southern Cross station, Etihad Stadium and the Skybus depot.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mary Ellen O’Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    573
    274
    64
    22
See reviews for
131
421
208
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yallourn North
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The initial service was pleasant although we had to wait quite a period to be check in as there was only one team member and he was busy with other hotel guests.
The 'full buffet breakfast' was ok, the food wasn't too warm and there was not lot of it, guests had to wait or miss out because it was not a lot of food cooked or being replenished.
The room looked straight out to an old derelict building so no pretty view.
The bed was the worst hotel bed i have slept on. it was hard and it fell in in the middle so my partner and I fell in to each other.
For the money i spent on the hotel i was disappointed with what i received.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Accor Traveller

Many thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.
Located in the heart of the central business district of Melbourne, close to Etihad Stadium, shopping and the Convention centre, views from the hotel rooms are limited by the surrounding buildings.

We will certainly investigate and action your comments regarding breakfast and the standard of the bed.
We sincerely apologize that the hotel was not up to the usual standard that we strive.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mary Ellen O’Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Walking distance from Skybus stop (great for airport transfer), however, the room/property just 'feels' very cramped. Having stayed in a few Melbourne CBD hotels this is a standard issue, but something feels a little better about others I have stayed for a similar price.

I always look forward to a property that has a gym listed in its facilities. However the Ibis Little Bourke Street gym just had a small room w/a very old treadmill/stair machine and an old combo resistance machine.

The bathroom is extremely cramped, a female traveller may be annoyed by the lack of space to prepare for an outing. Room decor just felt dated.

PRO(s):
-Excellent location (2min walk to Skybus/Southern Cross Station)
-Can walk anywhere CBD

If you are looking at this hotel I assume you are looking at value, its not the best but not the worst, hopefully in Melbourne you aren't spending too much time in the room anyways.

2.5/5

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank slkt8k_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis3030, General Manager at Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Slkt8k_

Many thanks for taking time to provide valuable feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. This feedback is invaluable to us as we are constantly aiming to improve our service to our guests.

The hotel is a compact economy property, where space has been utilised to the ultimate in design and layout. Located in the heart of the central business district of Melbourne, Etihad Stadium, shopping and Convention centre, views are limited by the surrounding buildings.

Your comments relating to the décor and gym will be passed onto those concerned with organising the next update within the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Kind regards

Mary Ellen O’Malley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#134 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street

Property: Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Address: 600 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $102 - $207
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, unsurpassed location and excellent service make ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street a very popular hotel choice. Boasting 121 rooms, this hotel has all the convenience of a central city location close to the financial, legal and entertainment precincts and is walking distance to the Skybus airport transfer service and Southern Cross Train Station. Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street is modern and affordable with comfortable rooms and great amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Facilities include a breakfast room, Internet access and private offices. Conference rooms are available for a variety of small to medium functions, training seminars, trade shows or workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Melbourne
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing