We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Dip”

Spoonbill Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #602 of 4,116 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: USD 12 - USD 40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Nestled into The Olsen hotel on Chapel Street, Spoonbill celebrates Australia’s regional produce. As our seasons change so too does our menu, ensuring the freshest of fare for flocks and grazers alike. Whether you’re looking to peck, feed in a group or enjoy a fully fledged meal, find a perch at Spoonbill and settle in.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quick Dip”
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Stopped for a quick pre-dinner drink, Friday night crowd was buzzing along quite nicely, great service.

Visited June 2015
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    57
    33
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakie”
Reviewed 10 June 2015

The best place for breakfast for sure. We tried a couple other places across the street for breakfast, but this was the nicest and the best value. If you are staying at the Olsen there is no need to go any where else. Nice bar and dinner too!

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great everyday restaurant with a special feel”
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Our 'home' restaurant when we stay at our Melbourne home (the Olsen). Great food and atmosphere... doesn't feel like a hotel restaurant.

Visited May 2015
Helpful?
Thank L170KUjimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room Service Toast”
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The cheese omelette was great, the coffee mediocre and the toast cold. There's no one to blame. I can't even get my toast to stay hot when I eat it at home!

Visited May 2015
Helpful?
Thank LuLuLoves_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal in South Yarra”
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Being not terribly hungry, wife and I decided to share a (500 Gm) ribeye steak with fries and salad on the side. The steak was tender and perfectly cooked. The side dishes were just right. The meal was preceded by some bread with oil which kept our palates active prior to arrival of the main dish. The waiter was friendly, attentive and efficient. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NJS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spoonbill Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Spoonbill Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing