We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not my best YHA experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Metro YHA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Metro YHA
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Not my best YHA experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed at this hostel 5 nights and after a long flight from Singapore, I wasn't impressed with the place and with the service.
Here are the things I didn't like:
1 - The hostel is a bit far from the center and it's difficult to find shops and restaurants near by.
2 - You are only able to do your check-in at 2 pm and if you arrive very early (say 10 pm), and you want to leave your luggage at the hostel while you go visit the town center, they will charge you for a locker.
3 - My room wasn't very clean and the bathroom on my floor was filthy.
4 - The reception staff wasn't very helpful and nice.
In short: For the price you pay at this hostel I'm sure you can find better hostels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpnrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    99
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
13
28
84
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Went to sydney and melbourne for my trip, both staying at YHAs. the contrast between Sydney Central and Melbourne Metro is quite distinct.
Sydney Central seems to be very popular with teens and school groups, making the place lively, and perhaps a little too lively at times.

At Melbourne Metro, the crowd are more mature, more "sedated", making it a great place to chill out, rest and relax, in relative peace, after a long day out in the city.
It also helps that the staff here are friendly and helpful.
The rooftop lounge is a good place to hang out, with its comfortable sofas and nice ambience.
AND, last of all, I was very impressed by the presence of a bathtub, given the price they are charging. This is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donthc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

This was a great hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful and it is kept really clean (all the YHA hostels are).

I travelled with a friend and we stayed in an 8-share, all girls room. The room was a little small but there was enough room to do everything you needed.

There were a bunch of things we loved about this hostel:
- It was great that there are lockers in the rooms that you can use to store your valuables.
- The lounge area is open 24 hours so there is somewhere to hang out after your roommates got to bed.
- The rooftop terrace is beautiful and has an awesome view of the city
- There is a cafe in the hostel where you can buy breakfast or dinner
- You are really close to the Queen Victoria Market

There were only two downsides:
- That the hostel is a little north of where the majority of the action is in Melbourne, but we walked everyday and it was fine (about 25 minutes to Federation Square), otherwise there are lots of tram and bus stops nearby.
- Wifi access is only available in the lounge or on the rooftop terrace, so you can't use wifi in your room.

We liked our stay here so much that we canceled a hotel we had booked near the airport for our last night to go back to the Metro YHA.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BbqPeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Indeed, it is a nice YHA: rooftop terrace, great cafe and kitchen and overall impressive facilities which are well kept and clean. Helpful and occasionally humorous staff and a chilled atmosphere. In general a good place to stay - YHA quality!

Nevertheless, some points that stroke out for their inconvenience.

First of all, the double bed in the multipurpose (so either family, twin or double room) are too hard. Certainly a very subjective issue and I do not want to compare it to others but those to whom a soft and comfy bed is important may be warned. It is still a hostel.

Second and more importantly, the service is rather poor when it comes to non-routine issues. In general, success or failure depends highly on the staff member in duty. In short, we became YHA members only the second day, as we first wanted to see whether we could receive a student card to receive the cheaper rates. While our check-in staff member promised we could this was fine and we would receive the cheaper rates for the entire stay and not only from the membership onwards, the next had completely different view on this. In the end it took the manager to "make an exception".

Even worse, the promise to receive the refund in cash as soon as we became members (the higher, non-member rates were already deducted from the credit card). The next staff member changed this to "during checkout" which was already inconvenient, as we would receive 45 dollars in cash about three hours before leaving the country but okay - we planned our budget this way and reserved the 45 bucks for the airport shuttle bus. During checkout, however, the next staff member revealed that there is "no way" to receive it in cash - it can only be re-transferred to the credit card. Not the greatest news three minutes before you are picked up by the airport shuttle. Last chance the provided ATM: Two attempts before the staff finally reveals that the machine is not working but we can pay the shuttle by credit card. Unfortunately, we had missed it already, had to hurry to the tram, run to the station and reach the next shuttle, exhausted and certain to avoid this YHA in the future - a pity, actually.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacapsicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We arrived in Melbourne in the dark and only could stay one night as the YHA was booked full.
The best thing about this hostel is that they had not only a bathtub, but also a proper coffee plunger (most hostels have nothing.)
They also have a restaurant onsite for a very cheap breakfast, which is great when just arriving.
Lots of facilities and friendly staff. Clean and quiet

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#25 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 118 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#90 of 118 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#45 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#24 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#34 of 118 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Metro YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Property: Melbourne Metro YHA
Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $34 - $137
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Metro YHA Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing