We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$161
Mercure
AU$179
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
No prepayment needed
ZenHotels.com
AU$154
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,179)
Filter reviews
8,179 results
Traveller rating
3,167
3,664
958
254
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,167
3,664
958
254
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location travel lodge eureka tower south bank arts centre yarra river room was clean flinders street station walking distance restaurants and bars good size would stay again minute walk public transport easy access free wifi a great place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 8,179 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023 via mobile

As a platinum All Accor member I would hope to receive certain privileges during my stay, but first and foremost, regardless of my status, friendly and welcoming staff willing to help resolve issues. Contrary to my assumption I received attitude from 'Roby' the manager on duty. Instead of trying to help resolve the issue, all he had was excuses. After a lengthy back and forth I just did not want to speak with him anymore. Long story short, Roby never apologized, or asked how he could help make up for the inconvenience or offer anything to make my stay better, nope he offered NOTHING, not even a simple I am sorry!

Room tip: Location is convenient if you are not looking for first class service.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank C3302IVpatrickh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucie Hartmann, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback on another platform. We truly appreciate your comments and want to assure you that we take them seriously. Your input is invaluable to us as we strive to improve our services.

I have responded to some of your previous comments to further discuss your concerns, and I have also sent you an email. We value open communication and are more than willing to engage in a conversation to address any issues or questions you may have.

If you wish to contact us, please do not hesitate to do so. We are here to listen, and your satisfaction is our priority. We look forward to the opportunity to discuss your feedback further.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Was located in a great location but the bathroom was disgusting. Mould covering the grout between the tiles, along the edges of the shower screen and drain. Bathroom floor tiles looked stained and dirty. Mould around the drainage holes in sink. Looked like something had been spilled onto wall next to bed.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucie Hartmann, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for bringing your recent experience to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your stay at Mercure Melbourne Southbank. This falls short of our standards, and we appreciate your feedback as it helps us address and improve upon these shortcomings.

Rest assured, we take your concerns seriously, and we will be conducting a thorough investigation into the cleaning lapses you've highlighted. Immediate actions will be taken to rectify the situation and ensure a more pristine environment for our guests.

Thank you for your time.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Our 9 day stay at the Mercure Melbourne Southbank exceeded our expectations in regard to the convenient location of the hotel, being close to a variety of restaurants, and only a short walk to a bridge crossing over to the railway station and central city. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well decorated, possibly recently renovated. We were completely satisfied with the standard of the housekeeping service, and most impressed one particular day when we omitted to change the sign saying our room was available for servicing. We returned to our room late in the afternoon and soon after a staff member called to see if we would like our room serviced. Our only disappointment was that the kitchen was undergoing renovation and there were no meals available, apart from a buffet breakfast. We were therefore unable to take advantage of our membership discounted meals (we were already eligible for free breakfast as part of our membership). We would recommend the Mercure to others.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DorisPrenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucie Hartmann, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2023

Dear Doris,

Thank you for your positive feedback after your stay with us at Mercure Melbourne Southbank. We're thrilled to hear that the hotel's location, room quality, and housekeeping exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your understanding regarding the kitchen renovation's impact on dining options and apologize for any inconvenience caused. There will be more offerings from next year as we slowly launch new menus for lunch and dinner.
Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

I recently booked through AGODA a 3 night stay at Mercure Melbourne Southbank - Fri 13 to Mon 16 October 23.
I have previously stayed at the hotel when it was under the Travelodge banner and stayed at other hotels in the area.
I am very disappointed in the stay.
Provision of coffee satchels x 3 how lousy, had to go to reception each night and ask for more and it seemed to be an imposition and embarrassing to ask for more.
Cover doona of the bed had yellow stains on it.
Shower head pipe in the wall was loose so the shower head would move and not sit straight.
It appeared as if the floors had not been vacumed and had to advise the reception.
The bathroom/ensuite sink appeared to be blocked or restricting the flow of water in the sink and needs attention/cleaning the pipes.
For $269 per night I consider it was not value for money and at this time would not recommend it and look elsewhere when next in Melbourne, there is no shortage of hotels along Southbank.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank avstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishma Shrestha, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Mercure Melbourne Southbank. We genuinely appreciate your candid feedback, and we apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.

It is disheartening to hear about the challenges you faced, and we sincerely apologize for any lapses in service and cleanliness. Your concerns regarding the provision of coffee, the condition of the doona cover, the loose shower head, and the cleanliness of the room have been duly noted. We assure you that these issues are not reflective of our usual standards, and we will be conducting a thorough review and addressing them promptly.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort caused, and rest assured that your feedback is invaluable to us in making the necessary improvements. We understand the importance of delivering value for the price paid, and we regret that your experience did not meet your expectations.

If your travels bring you back to Melbourne, we would appreciate the opportunity to regain your trust and provide you with the excellent experience we strive to deliver.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Anita, Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023

First time in Melbourne arrived noontime and if 2 persons is cheap to take Uber-X which cost $54. If alone can try the Skybus ($22) from airport to Southern Cross Station and take a taxi $12 to Mercure MEL Southbank hotel. Or can take a tram which is free but need walking. On arrival at hotel checked in was fast and staff will explain the hotel facilities. Got upgraded to King size bed room on top floor and side view can see the Yarra river. Room is big (25 Sq M) and very clean. Heard hotel renovation is in progress. Love the comfortable Bed and guess what the toilet is superb clean. Microwave is provided also. Breakfast is simple but filling with lots of seating space. Walking along Yarra river bank lots of restaurants but if prefer food court Crown Casino have one and further down is DFO outlet have a food court at B1. On other side of river lots of restaurants and worth visiting Korean BBQ king at 280 King Street. Lunch is $40 and dinner at $50. Many shops on the Main Street and looking for supermarket there is one Coles at Elizabeth street. Moving around the Main Street can take the free tram. Looking for simple clothing head to Spencer Outlet at Spencer Street. The Chinatown is at Swanston street. Met the hotel GM Ross Chapman who is helpful and fast to solve my minor problems.

Room tip: Take Uber- X is convenient from airport
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HarryC2091
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nishma Shrestha, Guest Services / Front Office at Mercure Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Dear Harry,

Thank you for choosing Mercure Melbourne Southbank for your stay and for sharing such a comprehensive review of your experience. We appreciate your detailed feedback, which will undoubtedly be helpful for future travelers.

It's delightful to hear that you enjoyed the benefits of our convenient location and that your check-in process was swift and informative. We're pleased you liked the room upgrade with the view of the Yarra River, and we're glad you found it spacious and impeccably clean. Your positive comments about our comfortable beds, clean toilet, and the provided amenities are greatly appreciated.

We're thrilled to know that you explored and enjoyed various dining options and attractions in the vicinity, taking advantage of our strategic location. Your commendation of our General Manager, Ross Chapman, is also heartening, and we'll make sure to pass along your kind words.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Warm regards,
Anita, Front Office Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews