We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Ranked #53 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was really pleased with our room. The bed was comfortable (more than some expensive hotels I have stayed in).
The room has a microwave, kettle, fridge, cutlery and crockery.
We ordered from Soprano's and it was delivered right on time (fantastic meal too).
The location is great, we were going to a concert at The Sidney Myer Music Bowl and it was less than 10 mins walk.
Had a buffet breakfast in the morning, which was yummy and the cafe latte was really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for your positive feedback - It means a lot to the team here at Travelodge Southbank! I hope you enjoyed your concert as much as you enjoyed your stay with us. My self and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,504 - 5,508 of 6,061 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great location on south bank, access to crown casino is good. Great selection of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location and whether in Melbourne for leisure or work it is walking distance to most of the cities fabulous attractions and only a short walk across the river into the CBD. I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day as the first nights of our holiday. This is the best Travelodge I have ever stayed in - clean, nicer rooms than your usual UK Travelodge, friendly staff... Just what you need. It's a great location too, just off the Southbank and a quick walk over the bridge to Flinders Street station and Exhibition Square. If you are just looking for a base in Melbourne and don't want anything glamourous from your hotel then this does exactly that. 5 stars for what it is....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsbells53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Travelodge Southbank. I will be sure pass your compliments onto my team of whom I am very proud.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Very comfortable room, and great location but it was the staff that really made all the difference on this visit. My friend became unwell, and the front desk staff called an ambulance, then rang the room to assure us that it was on the way, and ask if there was anything they could do to help while we waited. Later that day I received a phone call from the staff saying "I see that your friend went to hospital overnight - how is she & can we do anything to help?"

When I ended up needing to stay an extra night, it was no trouble, and every time I came in from the hospital, the front desk staff would ask after my friend. Getting sick at any time is not pleasant but it becomes significantly more stressful when you are away from home, and your normal resources and supports. Thanks to the Travelodge Southbank staff, I had a few less things to worry about at this time. I will definitely be going back, and would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalek120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for your kind feedback and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Travelodge Southbank. I will be sure pass your compliments onto my team of whom I am very proud.

I do hope your friend is feeling better and I look forward to welcoming you and your friend back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with friends, we had three single beds in a room and it was good value. Location was great - walking distance to city, shops and restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing I got caught out on was not booking my airport transfer 24 hours earlier with reception (but that was my fault). The staff referred me to the telephone located near reception which you can dial and speak directly with the airport shuttle bus company to arrange hotel pick ups.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thanks for your positive feedback - It means a lot to the team here at Travelodge Southbank!

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We know you have
many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose
Travelodge Southbank for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 161 in Melbourne
5,174 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,406 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $138 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing