We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fab Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hatton Hotel
Ranked #117 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just returned from our honeymoon stay at The Hatton and what a fantastic place to stay. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was kitted out with amazing furniture and gave us a little extra space for our extended stay. Breakfast was included and was simply fab. Hoping hubby will book hotel for 1st Wedding anniversary!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEMP030412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Hatton. We always enjoy seeing Honeymooners returning on anniversaries and it would be great to see you again! It was our pleasure to have you. As an aside, our very first guests spent their wedding night at The Hatton and have returned many times since to relive old memories!

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    63
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Friendly staff, good, clean, well equipped rooms. Nice bed. Fantastic breakfast and a nice porch to eat breakfast on if the weather is good. Staff was very helpfull and if I ever need to stay in the city again I will be back! Half hour walk through the gardens to get to Fed Square was nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YggdrasilEquestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Having lived in this area most of my life, I have always appreciated the location and being able to walk or take advantage of Melbourne’s famous trams, to get to many landmarks and the beautiful parks and gardens. We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This gorgeous inner suburban hotel gives you that great feeling of how it would be to live in this hip neighborhood. Tram stop right outside, a few minutes ride to the city, Toorak Road walking distance and local dining handy. They serve a continental breakfast, and wines in the evening... The rooms are big and airy, with eclectic furnishings, high ceilings, modern bathroom, small kitchenette in our room and lovely linens, good beds. So old-style Melbourne from a gone-by era. Highly recommended, we have stayed there 3 times over the last 10 years and always consistently good. There's a great roof top garden sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
We are so pleased you got that great feeling of how it would be to live in this neighbourhood. We try hard to give a unique experience that set us apart from the hotel chains, and a large part of that is our location being set amongst one of Melbourne’s premier residential areas.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the Hatton last week and was more then happy with everything.
Just a small thing a very poor bar selection,continental breakfast and coffee very good and newspapers.
Walking distance to good restaurants, tram out side
Bed room a little sparse but lovely big bed.
I will use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriciaTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback- we always appreciate the honesty so we can improve the hotel. We are currently looking at improving the bar selection and will soon have a new wine list with a focus on interesting small local wineries. Unfortunately we are bound by certain constraints, we are housed in a partially heritage listed building, being a uniquely small hotel (only 20 rooms) and being in a residential area all impact on the size of our bar and who we can or can’t serve based on licensing regulations. However given these constraints we do always aim to please and are working hard to improve the bar area! Thanks again for choosing the Hatton.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Hatton is a beautiful small hotel located in South Yarra a short walk away from Toorak and with excellent restaurants and shops close by. There is a tram stop directly out front that takes you into the centre of Melbourne just 10mins away.The continental breakfast is lovely with cereals, fruit, pastries etc and the staff friendly and helpful providing dining and shopping suggestions. This was our second stay and we will return. Completely different from large impersonal hotels with a special feel about it. On the downside, room needs a spring clean, not dirty but dusty and door frames grubby. Prefer room on upper level as some noise on lower level.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaMaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Royce Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#21 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#18 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Property: The Hatton Hotel
Address: 65 Park St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $180 - $350
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne
The Hatton Hotel Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing