We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 53
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
USD 53
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
USD 46
View deal
Booking.comUSD 58
PricelineUSD 57
Trip.comUSD 57
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
116
202
79
29
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
202
79
29
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south yarra train station chapel street bunk room budget hotel breakfast was included public transport close to shops convenient location fabulous location cereal tv australia microwave ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

If you need a place for 2 people too stay at l highly recommend the departments in Arthur St Sth Yarra. You have too book through Hotel Claremont and get your keys from them. Only short walk too Chapel St and very close too everything you need. Very quiet st. Apartments well equipped. Very clean and well kept. Have stayed here many times and recommend it. Not very dear on price. Well with in budget. Plenty car parking.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

From the moment you walk into this historic hotel with her grand old staircase, you're hooked.

Everyone is super friendly all the time and always trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

From Eva the hotel manager,the receptionist Rachel, Gabrielle, the owner, Nick the night staff and cleaning crew. They are all so welcoming and accommodating and go above and beyond call of duty in ensuring your stay is top notch.

Definitely value for money I decided to stay longer and went to their apartments located some 5min walk from the hotel.

Looking for somewhere cosy, friendly and affordable? Then look no further than the Hotel Claremont.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank klahrah1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

Great budget accommodation with plenty of character and fantastic location close to dinning and shopping. Clean and comfortable with helpful reception staff. Obviously quite at this time but imagine it would easily book out without international travel restrictions. Would definitely stay again. Suited our every need.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank melbourne2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020

Clean rooms small but good for a budget (well priced for the high end of town). Great location to shop and dine out. Surrounded with venues and busy streets and public transport not far from the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamcG2530NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Its not overly bad but it is different to what I was expecting. Its more like a 2 star backpackers than a 3 star hotel.
The double bed room was much smaller than than the spacious pictures online.
Shared bathrooms with 3 minute showers not really my thing.
No trimmings here. Just a small room with a bed, heater, tv, table, shelf. Apparently there are communal kitchen and lounge areas.
Parking is a thing. Theres some public street 2hr spaces in the area that are ok overnight but unsecured and you need to move before 9am. We ended up in a parking building paying about $30 for the night. Reading the in room information it gives some better/cheaper options in the area but that's redundant info if your already in the room. They should endeavour to convey that info before checkin.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank nak_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva Marc, General Manager at Hotel Claremont, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Claremont! We appreciate that you chose to stay with us. Hotel Claremont is a three-star hotel, assessed and certified yearly by VTIC's Quality Tourism accreditation. We do have a variety of accommodation options - we have both private hotel rooms, and backpacker shared rooms available. As a historic building (140 years old this year!) rooms do vary in size, but there are photos of our various rooms online to give you an idea regardless of which room type you book.

As part of our environmental activity, we do suggest that guests consider water use and keep their showers short. However the choice is yours. All bathrooms are shared as with the original traditional heritage style of the hotel. There are 25 fully modernized individual bathrooms, and we clean them with hospital grade disinfectant, multiple times a day, to ensure hygienic facilities. All rooms are close to multiple bathrooms.

Thank you for your feedback on parking - we've taken your advice into consideration and have put parking information on our website to ensure guests can check the details prior to arrival.

We appreciate the feedback, and hope to see you again sometime. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews