We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Ibis Melbourne”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Very Good location and the price was great. The staff were nice and approachable. The place was near to restaurants, cafe, shops and other business establishments at the city of Melbourne. The room was safe. Need a little bit check on the water pressure of the shower. The toilet over all performance was clean and nice,

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Charlu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldinevejano, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Charlu C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about the price point and the location of our CBD hotel – it is a great option for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer! Your feedback about the staff being nice and approachable throughout your stay has been forwarded to our front office team.

We thank you for your comments about the water pressure of the shower in the room you were allocated. Your feedback has been forwarded to our maintenance team to be actioned.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Warm regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 92 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Bit mixed, because I was only booked for 2 nights, for a couple of days in the city, before an early morning flight to Arrowtown, NZ! BUT because of my daughter's baby unsettlement, I added 3 days ( early) to leave Beck Adam & wee Lachie ( 8 months) a bit more space in a 2 bedroom townhouse.... so all could get some sleep! BUT because I had pre-paid from NZ for the LAST 2 NIGHTS, I got a heavy priced to NOT switch rooms for 3 nights, then go to my original booking! WHY could I not just extend without a new booking?? And have to pay up to not move rooms?? And as and extra, of course, was the FIRE ALARM, that kept on going, with no staff update for 3 hours, from 5.30am in the morning in Pants & Jacket! Many in Pajama's! with no shoes etc..... Yes I got moved as my room 5103, was partially flooded! etc... etc....

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 623roby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldinevejano, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear 623roby,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not completely satisfactory.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was negatively impacted by the difference in price from the time you booked your original prepaid accommodation with us before travelling to Melbourne and the higher cost that you encountered when extending your stay with us for the three additional nights. Hotel pricing is dynamic and the advertised price that you originally booked is only available at the time of viewing and is subject to change without notice. Your comments have been forwarded to our management team for review.

We thank you for your comments regarding the incident that occurred on the 11th of October. Our priority is always the safety of our guests and staff. The limited staff that were working at the hotel during the early time of the incident followed the safety protocols that were required of them to ensure the immediate safety of all those who were at the hotel. We apologise for any inconvenienced caused on this occasion and if you have any concern regarding the incident, please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel directly.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night as we were in Melbourne for a wedding. When booking, I telephoned the hotel and specifically asked several questions about parking as we were driving there, and it can be hard to find a hotel in the CBD with parking. The staff member told me that they had parking a few doors down and the costs associated were to be paid upon checkout. Upon arrival, we were told that the car park was full and that we would need to find parking elsewhere. We ended up having to pay $85 to park our car overnight nearby.

It is very misleading and a huge oversight by the staff at this hotel to not advise a customer that there is only very limited parking available - especially when the surrounding car parks are so expensive!

The room itself was tidy however it was very warm and stuffy and the air con was pretty useless.

Overall we were pretty dissatisfied with the hotel and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niamh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldinevejano, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Niamh H,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that your overall stay with us was not satisfactory. We are disappointed to hear about the staff not advising you about the limited car parking we have available at the hotel – your comments do not reflect our hotel’s high standards of customer service and your feedback has been passed onto our management team for review.

Your comments about the air conditioning not working properly in the room you were allocated has been forwarded to our maintenance team to be actioned.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us was not satisfactory on this occasion, however we hope you may allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel when you visit Melbourne in future.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This place is brilliant! It is in the centre of town, just a stroll to everything you could want in the CBD. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was on the smaller side, it was more like a ensuite. Despite the location, it was considerably quiet. Check out was 11am which was nice! And they have a massive locker area to leave your bags for hours while you continue to explore.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldinevejano, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Laura C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to provide a review about our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – our central location in the Melbourne CBD is ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer!

We are happy to hear your comments about the cleanliness of the room you were allocated, the 11am checkout and the luggage storage area. Your comments about the cleanliness has been forwarded to our housekeeping team.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

It is a centrally located hotel in middle of town all places of attraction are At a walking distance 15 minutes walk to most places. Has couple of clubs, shopping malls, tram that is lifeline of the city is just 5 mins walk. Got a room on 6 th floor in old wing rooms are small.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Navinpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geraldinevejano, Manager at The Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Navinpat,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our CBD hotel – it is ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.

We are happy to let you know that our hotel is currently undergoing a soft refurbishment– with all beds, bedding, curtains, carpets and furniture to be replaced. Subject to availability, you may request a newly refurbished room.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,619 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $104 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether staying for business or leisure, The Victoria Hotel is the obvious choice when looking for contemporary accommodation in Melbourne. Idyllically located next to Melbourne Town Hall and minutes from the iconic Flinders Street Station and Federation Square, this historic hotel in Melbourne is within close walking distance to the city’s must-see attractions. With 370 spacious heritage rooms, The Victoria Hotel offers contemporary accommodation within what is arguably Australia’s most popular city. With a range of configurations available, each guest room is beautifully appointed with stylish furnishings and all the essential amenities and services the modern traveller needs to be comfortable and to stay connected. Guests are encouraged to taste their way through the full buffet breakfast, traditional Thai and modern Australian menu at the on-site eatery, Alice’s Thai Restaurant. And when it’s time to unwind, there’s Vic’s Bar & Pool Room, one of Melbourne CBD’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing