We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old fashioned and run down general premises”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #90 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Room was very small and feel lucky was solo as double bed seem very small.

Feel some staff need be given training on things that go on in melbourne.
Some staff knew little about Southern Cross Station or what trains ran from such a close and major station.

Renovations were going on but Sunday should not have had construction work making noise so early .

Room Tip: I didnt see a lot of other rooms but thought mine tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaffa39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

Dear jaffa39,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. Due to the size of our hotel, all of our rooms come in different shapes and sizes – some larger than others. Subject to availability, you may request to be allocated a larger room.

Your feedback about the local knowledge levels of some of the staff has been forwarded to our front office team for review. Your comments regarding the noisy construction work from the renovations taking place too early on a Sunday has been forwarded to our management team for review.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017

This hotel was one of the cheapest on the weekend we decided to travel to Melbourne. It is in a great location, the rooms are nice and our bathroom was recently renovated. The pool, spa and gym are good. The buffet breakfast was ok. We would book here again. Sign up to Le club Accor to get free wifi.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Dear Krys1224,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the value for money, the location and facilities available at our CBD hotel. We are ideally located for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived after a long flight from the UK several hours ahead of check in. The hotel kindly let us use the jacuzzi and shower facilities so we could relax and freshen up whilst we waited for our room to be ready which was much appreciated.

All staff at reception were always really friendly & helpful - Emily in particular. She spent a lot of time giving us recommendations on good places to eat and for shopping.

Location of the hotel is fantastic - really central and only a short walk away from everything that you need.

Rooms & facilities are a little tired and could do with touching up in places. Bathroom in the room was really modern and well maintained however.

Overall a great stay & a great base to explore Melbourne.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank prex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Dear prex18,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our CBD hotel. It is ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.

We are happy to hear your positive feedback about the friendly and helpful reception staff during your stay – your comments have been forwarded to both Emily and our front office team.

We appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and facilities available at the hotel – we are happy to let you know that our hotel is currently undergoing a soft refurbishment – with all beds, bedding, carpets, curtains and furniture to be replaced.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days at this hotel. Room was unexpectedly small and cramped for a twin bed room. The hotel lobby was rather disappointed from the pictures we view from the website. You will have to take a number of detours and opening of glass doors before you can arrive at your hotel room.
Location wise is pretty good and convenient and accessible to many locations. That's the only plus point.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Traveltodiefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Dear Traveltodiefor,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our CBD hotel – it is ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not completely satisfactory. Due to the design of the hotel, our rooms come in different shapes and sizes – some larger than others. Subject to availability, you may request a larger room.

Due to the size of our hotel, there are a number of corridors that take guests to different sections – the fire doors are in place as a safety precaution. Again, subject to availability, you may request a room that is more ideally located for your needs.

Your feedback regarding the hotel lobby has been forwarded to our management team for review.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#94 of 161 in Melbourne
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#42 of 161 in Melbourne
3,623 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $106 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether staying for business or leisure, The Victoria Hotel is the obvious choice when looking for contemporary accommodation in Melbourne. Idyllically located next to Melbourne Town Hall and minutes from the iconic Flinders Street Station and Federation Square, this historic hotel in Melbourne is within close walking distance to the city’s must-see attractions. With 370 spacious heritage rooms, The Victoria Hotel offers contemporary accommodation within what is arguably Australia’s most popular city. With a range of configurations available, each guest room is beautifully appointed with stylish furnishings and all the essential amenities and services the modern traveller needs to be comfortable and to stay connected. Guests are encouraged to taste their way through the full buffet breakfast, traditional Thai and modern Australian menu at the on-site eatery, Alice’s Thai Restaurant. And when it’s time to unwind, there’s Vic’s Bar & Pool Room, one of Melbourne CBD’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing