We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #91 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 21 July 2017

I read some reviews here saying good spa, great showers, very clean... I question were these reviewers all dreaming?

I booked this hotel because unfortunately it was a last minute thing and I was not willing to pay $700 for studio for overnight accommodation which I would only spend probably 5 hours of sleep at the hotel.

Due to the reviews I booked this hotel. Upon arrival the staff were friendly. our room was ready and they gave us our room keys. walking through this hotel is absolutely confusing, there are so many doors and wings.... I think Google Maps should walk through this hotel as people may need it...

Our wing was freshly painted as we could smell the very strong paint smell. We opened the door and ........... hmmmm the room is very small. ok might be a bit picky after all there were only two of us and we were there for two nights only, but when you are busy all day, you want to return to comfort.

Please put some shelving in the wardrobes and please oh please exchange the shower heads. They are very outdated.

upon checkout the staff was a bit rude. she looked at the system pressed a few buttons, looked up and said that's it your done, thank you.... I was not asking for a hug and a kiss... but at least she should have asked how my stay was and finished off with thank you for staying with us hope to see you again....

Well my experience ensured I never stay here again. Have learnt my lesson that I rather pay a few bucks more to at least be in comfort.

Room Tip: As view of the city. Do not go above level 6 because it is confusing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trusted_Review3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

Dear Trusted_Review3r,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are happy to hear about the friendly service you experienced when you checked in to our hotel. Your comments have been forwarded to our front office team.

We are sorry to hear that your overall experience with us was disappointing. Due to the design and layout of the hotel, our hotel does have a number of passageways connecting to different wings with a number of safety doors in place as a safety precaution. Our rooms also come in various shapes and sizes – some larger than others. Subject to availability, requests can be made to be more ideally located in a larger room.

Your comments regarding the shower head and lack of shelving in the rooms has been forwarded to our management team for review.

We are disappointed to hear about the poor customer service you received upon checkout. Your experience does not reflect our hotel’s usual high standards of service and has been forwarded to management for review.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Warm regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Staying at the Ibis Styles-Victoria Hotel is becoming a habit for me. During my last few trips to Melbourne I have stayed here both when working and I book it for my personal trips too. The hotel is central to everything, offers good amenities including a spa, at a decent price. I have stayed in enough different rooms now to see it is the same good quality bathrooms and comfortable beds with room heating in winter or aircon in summer, overall very comfortable indeed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melbournelassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 July 2017

To Melbournelassy,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our hotel amenities and the comfort of our rooms when you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back once again when you next travel to Melbourne!

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Clean rooms, good spa with powerful jets and warm pool. Our stay included breakfast which made the hotel even better value for the price, breakfast was your basic hotel breakfast - cereal, bacon, eggs, pancakes and pastries. Disappointed with the selection of Foxtel chanells on offer and the grime around the spa really could have used a wipe down.

Room Tip: We had a heritage room on floor 5. We had no issues there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Junk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

To Junk M,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

We are sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the lack of television channels available. Your feedback has been forwarded to our management team for review. Your comments regarding the cleanliness opportunities with the spa has been forwarded to our housekeeping team for review.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

The Victoria Hotel was a little better than we expected. Our room seemed to be in a newly refurbished section of the hotel - there was a newly painted smell in the corridor. When we entered our room, it seemed to be immaculate. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in and decor was pleasant.

The hotel has a small plunge pool, spa, sauna and small gym. There is also a buffet breakfast available, which we enjoyed during our stay. Parking is also available at an extra charge.

The Victoria is almost on the corner of Swanston St and about 5 mins walk from Flinders St station, 15 mins walk from the casino.

The only negative points that I'd bring up were that our room was not serviced the second day of our stay and there were a group of kids (10 - 13 yrs old) abusing the equipment in the gym on the first day of our stay, however the manager did deal with these kids in a very professional manner, despite the abuse the kids were giving him.

I would recommend the Victoria Hotel and we will probably stay there again next time we come to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank themaddog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

To themaddog74,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our location is definitely ideal for those who want to make the most of what Melbourne has to offer.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay was negatively impacted by the behaviour of the group of kids at the Rooftop Fitness Centre. We appreciate your comments regarding how the duty manager handled the situation and your feedback has been forwarded to our management team to review. Your comments regarding your room not being serviced on the second day of your stay has been forwarded to our housekeeping team.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel the next time you travel to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
The Team at ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cheekyken
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management response:Responded 13 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#92 of 161 in Melbourne
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#43 of 161 in Melbourne
3,619 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 215 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: AU$106 - AU$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether staying for business or leisure, The Victoria Hotel is the obvious choice when looking for contemporary accommodation in Melbourne. Idyllically located next to Melbourne Town Hall and minutes from the iconic Flinders Street Station and Federation Square, this historic hotel in Melbourne is within close walking distance to the city’s must-see attractions. With 370 spacious heritage rooms, The Victoria Hotel offers contemporary accommodation within what is arguably Australia’s most popular city. With a range of configurations available, each guest room is beautifully appointed with stylish furnishings and all the essential amenities and services the modern traveller needs to be comfortable and to stay connected. Guests are encouraged to taste their way through the full buffet breakfast, traditional Thai and modern Australian menu at the on-site eatery, Alice’s Thai Restaurant. And when it’s time to unwind, there’s Vic’s Bar & Pool Room, one of Melbourne CBD’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Accorhotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing