We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polly Woodside - Melbourne's Tall Ship Story
Save
Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise
84

Book in advance
from
AU$38.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Polly Woodside - Melbourne's Tall Ship Story
from AU$38.00
More Info
from AU$111.80
More Info
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
87
70
27
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
70
27
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

If you're a budget tourist (like I did) feel free to utilize the Free Tram Zone at no cost and find the nearest Tram stop at the corner of Spencer St and Flinders St (Spencer St. stop) then walk cross the Batman Park to the South Wharf area for 5 mins.
Just before you reach Polly Woodside you will welcomed by a beautiful park with many cherry blossoms trees, which would get prettier as the sky turned golden before sunset.
Initially I went to the area to do some shopping at DFO South Wharf, but can't help but stop at the park until the sun is gone. I really didn't expect for any flower to bloom at all, because we came too early in the spring, at the beginning of September. But we were lucky that spring came early at this side of Melbourne. It was really a pleasant surprise for me and my friends.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank alief3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We bought our grade 4 class here too experience first hand, life on a ship and they loved it. The staff here are so animated, knowledgeable, patient and able. It was such a great experience for both us the teachers and the students. Thank you so much for having us!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bxbats86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Something a bit different but located in the heart of the city, down on the Yarra River. How about a "trip" on a Tall Ship, The Polly Woodside, rich in the history of sailing ships, the life lived by the crew and the distances traveled by such a small ship. We were lucky enough to choose Pirates Day, held on the first Sunday of each month, and Ah ! Me Hearties, it was rousing good fun, and I didn't even have to walk the plank !!! Definitely worth a visit with youngsters.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Saw a deal on Groupon for this and thought we’d try it. It was great. Our kids loved the hands on aspects such as ringing the bell and scrubbing the decks. It was interesting looking at where they slept and how the ship was sailed. The museum is also interesting with some great information about the boat and the era.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

An old vessel in the heart of such modern surrounding, it’s a sight to behold. Docked on South Wharf is the Polly Woodside, a merchant vessel built in the 1885 and preserved here at the docks. It’s a museum now, showcasing Australia’s maritime heritage. I’m just surprised how small it actually is.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank juihong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews