We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Polly Woodside - Melbourne's Tall Ship Story
Save
Port of Melbourne and Docklands Sightseeing Cruise
81

Book in advance
from
AU$38.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Polly Woodside - Melbourne's Tall Ship Story
from AU$38.00
More Info
from AU$101.54
More Info
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
87
70
27
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
70
27
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Something a bit different but located in the heart of the city, down on the Yarra River. How about a "trip" on a Tall Ship, The Polly Woodside, rich in the history of sailing ships, the life lived by the crew and the distances traveled by such a small ship. We were lucky enough to choose Pirates Day, held on the first Sunday of each month, and Ah ! Me Hearties, it was rousing good fun, and I didn't even have to walk the plank !!! Definitely worth a visit with youngsters.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sylvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Saw a deal on Groupon for this and thought we’d try it. It was great. Our kids loved the hands on aspects such as ringing the bell and scrubbing the decks. It was interesting looking at where they slept and how the ship was sailed. The museum is also interesting with some great information about the boat and the era.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank bmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

An old vessel in the heart of such modern surrounding, it’s a sight to behold. Docked on South Wharf is the Polly Woodside, a merchant vessel built in the 1885 and preserved here at the docks. It’s a museum now, showcasing Australia’s maritime heritage. I’m just surprised how small it actually is.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank juihong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Visited on Sunday 4th March. We went to have a look at this beautiful restored ship now land locked by all the low bridges built over the Yarra River. Thankfully Melbourne has this historic ship to share with it's many visitors like me.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Michael-4551
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Our family of 6 visited 'Polly' in early December and were thrilled by the experience. We were able to browse through the 'museum' at our own pace which was interesting and interactive enough to keep both kids and parents interested. The 4 kids were then guided through the tall ship in the guise of being deck hands aboard by the 1880's era boat. The 'first mate' explained the conditions and workings in an interesting but informative manner which kept the kids interest. Overall i thought the entry fee of just over $50 was good value for our family of 6. Our experience was totally directed a child's level so I cannot judge whether the same would apply for an adult visiting. The crowds were minimal which was also a nice change in Melbourne CBD.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank danielkayelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews