We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #19 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed here for our one year anniversary and it was lovely. The room was delightful, we had a king sized bed and a huge spa. Also the breakfast was delicious, we had a hot meal each and a selection of pastries to choose from. Was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowymidnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Como Melbourne to celebrate your first wedding anniversary.
I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely experience.

It is also a pleasure to learn that your enjoyed breakfast in our Brasserie restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for future celebrations.

Yours sincerely,
Anne Marie Lennon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    263
    81
    28
    15
See reviews for
131
422
72
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had an opportunity to spend one night in Melbourne at the Como. The service from the staff was very friendly and warm and the foyer was well presented. Our Suite however was overpriced and dated. Mould was growing in the shower. The room we were shown to had a bad odour and after walking into the bathroom, we realised that the carpet was saturated in water. When we called the Reception, the staff kindly showed us to another room nearby.

This room was very clean however the bathroom was dated and it could do with either a super clean or a refurb. Despite the location being excellent and the service excellent, there are other hotels in the local area that deliver better value for money and a better quality of room. Room service was average although delivered with a smile. It is on par with a 4 star European hotel however not the 5 star hotel we expected. I must confess to being somewhat disappointed.

Definiltey in need of a refurbish.





.

Room Tip: Select a room overlooking the park for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent in depth feedback in relation to your stay with us.
It is disappointing to learn that your room was not up to our usual high standard of presentation. This will be followed up with our housekeeping team.

We hope to proceed with a rooms refurbishment in the near future which will address some of your concerns mentioned.

It is however lovely to hear that you enjoyed our location in South Yarra and found the service to be excellent.

We hope you will consider returning in the future.


Regards,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Booked room over wotif and got an excellent rate. Room was ready upon our arrival mid afternoon and was extremely spacious with a seperate study area and sitting room. Surprisingly, though the room was spacious, the bathroom had no bath, only a shower! Room View was overlooking an internal courtyard but that didnt bother us- there was no noise issue. Bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool and spa were lovely though odd how you had to enter though the fire exit/stairwells! Staff very friendly, room service was prompt. Would stay again for location as its a nice change than staying in the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Como Melbourne. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay.

Our rooms are spacious at Como and it has been noted that whilst you enjoyed the aspects of the office and the courtyard, you were disappointed not to have a bath. Should you choose to return to Como please ensure that you request a bath and we will do our best to ensure that your request is met.

We are hoping to upgrade the entrace area to the pool in the near future which will improve the aesthetics.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Como Melbourne in the near future.

Regards,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked the como on the mystery deal on Wotif and stayed for 6 nights over the new year period. When we first walked in, we thought the hotel room was a bit tired and dated, with some of the fniishes being a bit worn. However, we would not hesitate to return to the Como the next time we return to Melbourne.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, the location was excellent and although a little old, the room was very clean and comfortable.

An example of the staff's excellent service was when we were not receiving the paper, and we mentioned it in passing to a staff member at the front desk. He apologised to us, found us a copy of the days paper, and from the day our paper was always delivered to our room.

The staff would always give directions and help with trams.

Each night, we would have a cocktail in the bar, and the lady in the bar was very helpful and was able to make a 'mocktail' (non-alcoholic cocktail) for my daughter who is too young to drink. Her friendliness and helpfulness was fantastic.

The location is also great, because whilst it isn't in the city, it is in the very trendy area of Chapel St. There are many restuarants and shops all around the hotel, and the tram leaves from just outside the hotel, so it is extremely easy to get into the city. (However you could spend a whole day on Chapel St if you enjoy shopping and not get bored).

Thank you Como! We loved our stay and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

It is aways a pleasure to hear great comments about the team at Como including the service your received in our 'So Bar'. This feedback will be communicated.

We look forward to welcoming your family back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We only stayed for a night, but had a great experience.
The decor of the hotel and room was very trendy. Rooms were clean and hotel staff service was excellent.

We used the indoor pool and it was clean and perfect for a hot summer day cool down.
room was well appointed with all the basics. We liked the little rubber duck gift as well.

We stayed on new years eve, so the rates were higher than normal. Still good value and we will return. The hotel was close to shops and good restaurants in south yarra.

If we could change one thing, it would be that the beds were not the most comfortable we have slept on - they could be a bit old.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ_NZ_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to receive your feedback about The Como. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent family visit with us.

You certainly took advantage of our location and had a busy time exploring the local surrounds.

It is a pleasure to learnt that you slept well and enjoyed the service provided by the team. Your comments will certainly be passed on and will be appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.


Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,066 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#22 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $210 - $367
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC and ACCOR so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Melbourne - MGallery By Sofitel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing