We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good enough!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good enough!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

Quite basic rooms with some issues (i.e. very old bathtub, toilet very noisy, holes in walls not patched up properly) but it's very close to Toorak Rd/Chapel St restaurants, bars, etc.

There are kitchen facilities in the one bedroom apartment, i.e. microwave, oven, all plates/cutlery provided.

Parking is a slight issue in that it isn't secure and simply in laneway behind the apartments.

Could possibly find something better for that price in the CBD, but given time constraints when searching for accommodation, I wasn't entirely disappointed.

Service was good... would recommend this to someone looking for a place to stay overnight after a night out, though I'm not sure if it would be adequate for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    53
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
20
58
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed here as part of a group of six couples who came over to watch some football matches. We had the one bed apartments, which are to the right of the main entrance. The buildings were obviously at one time flats, and have been converted. The complex consists of 12 one bed apartments (the building to the right as you stand on the road and look at the property) and studio aparetments in the building to the left. There is a small garden with chairs etc dividing the two. A manager liveson site and was very friendly and helpful. Our apartments consisted of a lounge/kitchen combined area, and a separate bedroom and bathroom. On behalf of all six couples who stayed, we can advise that the beds had electric blankets, were clean and comfortable with good pillows. The bathrooms were clean with hot water and plenty of towels. The lounge/kitchen area was spacious and well equipped. Walking distance to a tram, South Yarra train station, great cafes, excellent coffee and close to Chapel Street for late night coffee and cake!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

I have been staying at various service apartments in Melbourne ( 2 days per week) recently and have come to a conclusion that there seems to be a trend of taking old apartment blocks and converting them to serviced apartments with absolutely no clue what the customer may need.

I want more flexibility to where I can stay ( away from Hotel zones) but it comes with poor choice with these cheaply converted unit blocks.

They basically paint the place and furnish it as cheap as possible. No remodelling done that may suit a business traveller.

This place is as poor as another one close by (on Avoca street).

I wanted to do some work ( as it is the point of my travel) and the table in the living room is barely bigger than my laptop.

They charge a fortune to use internet, and the second night it did not work at all.
In my opinion internet should be free. They are using rip off service providers.

The Aircon unit ( old style) was positioned that you could not fully close the curtain, and it allows for the neighbours to look right in.

Bathroom and kitchen look original. Need immediate remodelling.

Bed was ok ( better than a few I have stayed in, but I think that is a personal preference).

So, my thought is I would rather stay at a hotel if these type of places are just cheaply laid out and the price is almost the same.

I like the concept of a service apt, and the ones built for this purpose work better for a business traveller.

The irony is that many of these are located in high end areas. So the local landlords seem to have figured this may be better than renting units, yet keeping the service and quality poor.

I woud not recommend this place.

Rodney

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumella
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

This was our first time at a Punthill apartment and we chose South Yarra as they had a weekly deal on the Studio Apartment at $AU99 per night. The apartment is in a quiet location and so handy to both trams and South Yarra Train station which was a real bonus in getting around! When we arrived we could check in early since we had requested it around 12pm and Manager was really nice and understanding. The studio room was really spacious and can accommodate an extra bed with ease too. The kitchen area is reasonably sized and bathroom was also clean and functional. The room was serviced twice a week and the towels were replaced more than twice. We could also check out a bit later than usual at 11am and store our baggage securely there for the rest of the time that day.

Our only minus points are for the fact there is no lift the apartment and we were on the quiet 3rd floor, and also the airconditioning was noisy. Other than that this was a real deal in Melbourne! We will be back staying here mostly due to the pricing and location.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Our sons basic flat around the corner was tidier than the one bedroom Punthill apartment in Davis street. Poorly maintained with very basic furniture and fittings. For example the surface of the bath was completely worn through and you would not be inclined to sit in it. The vanity bench had holes in it that revealed the wood below the formica surface (two stick on patches obviously covered up other defects). There were no net curtains so you had to close the full drapes before getting changed or else neighbours would see in. The TV was very old.. The standard of this apartment was so low that I believe it is not suitable for visitors accomodation and should revert to being a long stay flat which is what it was built for.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank threestarplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#83 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#36 of 118 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Apartments of South Yarra
#42 of 118 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
District South Yarra
#4 of 24 in Yarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Property: Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Address: 44 Davis Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $93 - $181
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing