We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your waterfront second home in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #9 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Your waterfront second home in Melbourne”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Since it's a family trip, we were looking for a place that can accommodate 4 people in a single room so we decided to stay at Quay West and I'll tell you, you won't be disappointed. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, which basically is a two units with one 1-bedroom apartment and another typical studio bedroom that were connected at the front. This arrangement though doesn't give you that "true 2-bedroom" experience, but the living room of the 1-bedroom apartment is large enough for all of us to have our little space to do work/eat/watch TV.

The rooms were obviously looked after well. Unlike other "serviced apartments" things like tea/coffee/soap and even washing detergents are replenished on a daily basis. Beds were made everyday.

The views from the rooms we booked were also great. You can see everything from the MCG t the West end of the CBD. Access to the hotel from St. Kilda Rd was a bit difficult due to the redevelopment of the Arts Center nearby but it was non-issue at all. We head to the city most of the time via the Plaza and through the subway under the nearby Flinders Station and this walk is absolutely one of the liveliest walk ever given that it doesn't rain.

Other things you may need to know before hand:
- Gym: small, a bit below average with a few cardio equipment and 3 weight machines.
- Internet: no Wi-Fi in my room

It won't take long until you mistakenly tell your Melbournian friends your home is just in the Southbank Waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonnellato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

We note your comments regrading no wireless connections in the suite. We are reviewing this currently with the plan to install wireless in the coming months. We appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    274
    59
    11
    11
See reviews for
256
455
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you are looking for an excellent place to stay in Melbourne look no further. My wife and I dont go in for all this "after match" reporting but made a point of it this time because we were treated to a fabulous suite at Quay West. The bed was brilliant as was the service. I cant say enough about the quality of the whole package. Location was great with short walks to central city, trains, trams, casino, shops, shops, shops,. Very pleasant to return to after trekking behind the wifes shopping lists. Thank you Quay West. We will be back.

Room Tip: We were facing the MCG stadium and could see parts of the river and into the city. Pretty at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I found the Quay West to be very clean and comfortable. The staff were exellent, very helpful and polite. It is a very good location with lots of restaurants and attractions close by. Just across the river to Victoria train station and the centre of the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 April 2017
Looks like we missed this one..... we are pleased you enjoyed the stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It is right next to Southgate mall on the Southbank, within walking distance from Federation Square and the CBD. The suite was very spacious and in great conditions. My suite did not have a direct view of the CBD, but it was still a pleasant enough view. My only gripe about the room was the bathroom, which looked quite dated. The bathroom door did not even shut properly, and the running water was quite weak. But otherwise, the room was great.

The staff was friendly and helpful, except for the person who checked me out, who was a little curt when I asked him not to staple the invoice with the credit card receipt. Otherwise, a fantastic stay and would recommend it to anyone staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed here for business for 1 week and it was great in every way. Perfect location, an easy walk to Southbank shops and restaurants as well as a short walk over the river to the downtown area. The suite had plenty of space with a separate living room and bedroom, as well as a nice balcony and full kitchen (including a washer-dryer!). Very friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen03271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $207 - $446
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing