We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room with a View”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Rooms are excellent, only that when paying for an upgrade, we would have expected a bigger room. We did an upgrade one year and were very impressed with a corner suite. Room could have been a little bigger, but the views made up for it. We had the city on one side and the bay on the other. It was great watching the Queen Mary come in at 7 am.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filomena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,434
    1,241
    361
    120
    66
See reviews for
592
2,898
330
914
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Lets face it, I mean i do like this hotel and have stayed with it on a number of occasions; it is no longer a Deluxe 5 star hotel! Look it has a central location, decent sized rooms, with some of the best views in Melbourne; but she is an aging dame who is showing her age very clearly. Don't come here expecting the new look and feel of Sofitel worldwide and don't pay through the roof for a room, you may be very disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
520 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Sofitel experience commences the moment you arrive in the driveway where you are met immediately by porters and your luggage whisked away to your room. Checkin for us was equally efficient in a bright, light reception area.
Our room on the 48th floor had sweeping views across the bay, river and along the city. Quite breathtaking. The room itself was bright and spotlessly clean while the toiletries were very good quality, as one would expect in such a hotel. One unusual touch was that subdued lighting was activated in the bathroom whenever you went in there.
When we requested that our room be serviced quickly as we had visitors coming to see us in the room, the response from housekeeping was immediate.
All staff we had dealings with were friendly, professional and obliging.
We had breakfast at Number 35 Restaurant on the 35th floor each morning we were there (3) and found the same level of staff attention as we had come to expect. A good selection of well prepared and presented food was a pleasant way to start each day and the views were as good as one would anticipate at thet level.
Would we stay there again? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Request a room with bayside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We are regular travellers to Melbourne from Sydney. More so now as our eldest daughter has just started at Melbourne uni. We used to stay at the Westin but for our last few trips have stayed at the Sofitel. Value for money in the right room, the Sofitel wins. The rooms are not quite to the same standard but not too far off and if you get a room with a view over Port Phillip Bay as we did on our first couple of stays that seals the deal. This time we booked a club room but were disappointed. We were given a room with a view into the neighbouring office block. I could see the workers at their desks so I guess they could see us too. I expected a superior not inferior room for the extra cost. The club was a huge disappointment and basically empty which tells you guests are voting with their feet. We booked it because on a recent trip to China we had a great experience with the club facilities at the Grand Hyatt in Beijing and Langham Place in Hong Kong. Here, the food was ordinary at best, inedible at worst. And whilst we are definitely not lushes, alcohol is only served from 6.30 -8.30 so if you like to come back to the hotel late afternoon before going out to dinner and grab a beer or a glass of wine, forget it. Nor can you get a nightcap after dinner. I also had my credit card billed for mini bar items I did not consume after leaving the hotel. It was refunded but it shouldn't have happened in the first place. Also be warned, they don't advertise the parking price on their website but it is a ridiculous $40 per day when all the surrounding parking stations charge $10 on the weekend. Just gouging in my humble opinion. So will we stay there again, maybe but we'll look at other options first.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts on your recent stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I apologise that the Club room did not have the view you are accustomed to, however if you would be willing to call me so I can ascertain your specific details, I can perhaps explain why this occurred. Your other comments are appreciated and perhaps we can discuss more when you call. I look forward to talking to you hopefully soon. My contact number is 03 9653 0000.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,410 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,114 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,719 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $226 - $481
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, ACCOR, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing