We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 180*
USD 136*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 143*
USD 128*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 106*
USD 103*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 179*
USD 174*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 338*
USD 262*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 227*
USD 138*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 91*
USD 88*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
USD 264*
USD 160*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
USD 191*
USD 139*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
USD 253*
USD 204*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,468)
Filter reviews
2,468 results
Traveller rating
662
964
542
196
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
964
542
196
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradebed was very comfortablebourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,065 - 2,070 of 2,468 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Rooms are dated and smelly, carpet needs replacing. Paid for a spa room that only has a bath. For the money, would have been better staying at crown.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhyjvdjrjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your views on the hotel.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was a great location to catch trams and walk to some great shopping . We didn't find it noisy even been so close in the heart of Melbourne . We couldn't go past the outstanding service we had . At 1am one night we ask the front staff if they knew how to get to the Yarra Valley and we had 3 people looking up for 15 minutes how we could get there they were always willing to help and friendly . Will be staying here again . The only con was bathroom was very very small.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

I appreciate your feedback on your recent experience at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service extended by the front office team.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were not expecting much from this hotel after the negative reviews on this site but we only wanted somewhere to sleep and have a shower so thought we would give it a try !
We paid A $140 per night with breakfast
Pros
Position - perfect - Chinatown right on your doorstep :)
Comfy room which had recently been refurbished - apparently the suites have yet to be updated
The ultra fabulous "Dream Bed" - voted the most comfortable bed of our 2 week trip !
Very quiet - we thought this could be an issue so asked for a room on a high floor and it was fine
Sensibly priced parking underneath hotel $20 per night of $30 with unlimited exits - a bargain :)
Friendly staff
Cons
Breakfast a bit ordinary and caotic :(
Bar closed at 11 pm on a Sataday night
We will be back for sure if we can get a good deal
Tip - join Rydges Club for free to get good deals and discounts

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

It was good to see you took advantage of some good deals for your recent stay and you were relieved to find the property to be of a good standard for your needs. I agree with you on the Rydges Dream Beds, I purchased one myself and find it very difficult now to sleep on anything else! The location is one of the big positives for the property and the convenience of being able to access great shopping and other Melbourne entertainment options. The bar normally stays open a later than 11pm on a Saturday evenings, I can only imagine it must ahve been a quiet night and no shows were on nearby as they would be open until well after midnight as a rule.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

As rooms go, 2210 is typical of a city hotel. It was on the top floor and not too close to the lift. Although smallish, it was well appointed and had everything we need, although the soundproofing to the corridor is terrible. The room had no view to speak of but had an excellent location with a less than five minute walk to popular restaurants and the tram.
The breakfast room was a nice large room with lots of quiet corners. We had two mornings here, one morning we headed down later and it was packed. This could be a problem if you wanted eggs with your breakfast as they cook them to order. Alas this makes for quite a queue. The second morning we went down earlier and the room was quiet but the hot breakfast wasn't quite so hot. Nevertheless there was plenty on offer and hard to fault the quality.
Front desk was helpful and courteous and happy to store your bags if you arrive early and your room is not yet ready. Our room was available at 2.00 pm as advised on the website.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your contribution and description of the hotel experience you had when you were here recently, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed the room and the location. The breakfast in Locanda is generally of a good quality and the breakfast chef is normally pretty good in keeping up with the demand for eggs and omelettes cooked to order. We do however have some rush hours, particularly on weekends when leisure guests tend to come down a little later.

Your sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The location and price are ok but the hotel is old and the staff not very well trained.

To start with they misplaced my bag even though it was left with them for safe storage. Then the room we got had no furniture (it had been removed for repair) so we were shifted. As a Rydges member you are supposed to get a welcome back drink but this didnt happen for either booking I had (I booked 2 rooms for different stays). 2 out of the 5 nights we were there they didnt service our room and every day there was something wrong or forgotten.

We stayed in a king room and the bed was nice but thats all. The air con is not central and the in room units are very very noisy! The bathrooms are really really small to the point where you have to sit sideways on the toilet and the shower is not directly on you - it comes from the corner. The lighting is bad and there is no safe!

The hotel does not have wireless and the bar is very basic - we even had a begger try to get money off us whilst in the bar!

The staff whilst friendly just dont have enough experience and dont follow up on things. When I complained about a few things they just didnt care!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

It was unfortuante that your experinece was marred by what seemed to be poor attention to detail from the housekeeping team. It certianl is not the normal stamdard we try to instill with their training and follow up will occur to ensure this is improved upon. The bar generally is very extensive and partonage is normally quite good with what is offered. We are unfortunately in a CBD environment and as such from time to time the unfortunate homeless do access the al fresco area as they do in most al fresco areas in the CBD. We do try to move them on, but they can be persistent in their activities. The RPG membership benefits are advised to all the hotel team due to its importance to the business, It is baffling why you encountered issues with receiving your complimentary drinks on arrival, I can only guess that this was overlooked by the front desk person at the time. I will ensure this is followed up with the manager.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews