We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #78 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in January. Very convenient location for the Aussie open and visiting the central areas of Melbourne. Chinatown is right across the street. The hotel is comfortable and well priced if a little on the old side. We had a little issue with housekeeping who did not do a great job in cleaning up our room. Staff on the reception were for the most part helpful and friendly but I didn't like the additional charge for credit card usage when we checked out!

Room Tip: King Spa suite was great for all the family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent and I will ensure this is shared with team. The housekeeping team have undergone quite a lot of new additions through the summer period and it would seem more training is still required.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    828
    472
    163
    86
See reviews for
246
832
151
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Rooms are dated and smelly, carpet needs replacing. Paid for a spa room that only has a bath. For the money, would have been better staying at crown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhyjvdjrjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your views on the hotel.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was a great location to catch trams and walk to some great shopping . We didn't find it noisy even been so close in the heart of Melbourne . We couldn't go past the outstanding service we had . At 1am one night we ask the front staff if they knew how to get to the Yarra Valley and we had 3 people looking up for 15 minutes how we could get there they were always willing to help and friendly . Will be staying here again . The only con was bathroom was very very small.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
I appreciate your feedback on your recent experience at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service extended by the front office team.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We were not expecting much from this hotel after the negative reviews on this site but we only wanted somewhere to sleep and have a shower so thought we would give it a try !
We paid A $140 per night with breakfast
Pros
Position - perfect - Chinatown right on your doorstep :)
Comfy room which had recently been refurbished - apparently the suites have yet to be updated
The ultra fabulous "Dream Bed" - voted the most comfortable bed of our 2 week trip !
Very quiet - we thought this could be an issue so asked for a room on a high floor and it was fine
Sensibly priced parking underneath hotel $20 per night of $30 with unlimited exits - a bargain :)
Friendly staff
Cons
Breakfast a bit ordinary and caotic :(
Bar closed at 11 pm on a Sataday night
We will be back for sure if we can get a good deal
Tip - join Rydges Club for free to get good deals and discounts

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
It was good to see you took advantage of some good deals for your recent stay and you were relieved to find the property to be of a good standard for your needs. I agree with you on the Rydges Dream Beds, I purchased one myself and find it very difficult now to sleep on anything else! The location is one of the big positives for the property and the convenience of being able to access great shopping and other Melbourne entertainment options. The bar normally stays open a later than 11pm on a Saturday evenings, I can only imagine it must ahve been a quiet night and no shows were on nearby as they would be open until well after midnight as a rule.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

As rooms go, 2210 is typical of a city hotel. It was on the top floor and not too close to the lift. Although smallish, it was well appointed and had everything we need, although the soundproofing to the corridor is terrible. The room had no view to speak of but had an excellent location with a less than five minute walk to popular restaurants and the tram.
The breakfast room was a nice large room with lots of quiet corners. We had two mornings here, one morning we headed down later and it was packed. This could be a problem if you wanted eggs with your breakfast as they cook them to order. Alas this makes for quite a queue. The second morning we went down earlier and the room was quiet but the hot breakfast wasn't quite so hot. Nevertheless there was plenty on offer and hard to fault the quality.
Front desk was helpful and courteous and happy to store your bags if you arrive early and your room is not yet ready. Our room was available at 2.00 pm as advised on the website.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your contribution and description of the hotel experience you had when you were here recently, it was pleasing to read you enjoyed the room and the location. The breakfast in Locanda is generally of a good quality and the breakfast chef is normally pretty good in keeping up with the demand for eggs and omelettes cooked to order. We do however have some rush hours, particularly on weekends when leisure guests tend to come down a little later.

Your sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Property: Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $146 - $300
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing