We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a comfortable stay”
Review of Quest on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Lonsdale
Ranked #128 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I stayed in a 2 BR apartment on the 1st floor for 2 nights. One bedroom had a QS bed and the other had a double bed. There was an interconnecting bathroom which was very useful (you could close doors at either end). The decor looked quite new. The kitchenette consisted of the usual crockery/cutlery and it appeared clean (I didn't use anything out of the kitchen). The bedrooms were comfortable but I found my bed (DB) to be a little hard for my liking. The bathroom had a shower, toilet, handbasin with a small bench to put your belongings, a hairdryer and a washing machine and dryer. Staff at front desk were helpful and friendly. Location wise - Parliament Station is a short 5 minute walk and the theatre is just around the corner. The European is also just around the corner and only a short walk away, as are other wonderful restaurants. Also, there is a parking station next door and you can get discount parking. A pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymother_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 399 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

As soon as we arrived, the reception personnel at the time treated us disrespectfully. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment with a balcony, however there was no balcony. We were told other guests booked another night & that we were put in another room. This was done without us being consulted. We didn't know about it until we walked into the apartment. The man at the front desk at the time was extremely rude to us. Luckily, there were other attendants there later on and they were very nice and helpful. Furthermore, our apartment wasn't, we believe, clean enough. We actually went out and bought toilet & shower spray & cleaned it ourselves. We didn't want to ask at reception because we were already being looked down upon & we didn't want to cause any trouble.
All in all, we would give a rating of 3/5. The beds were comfy, large fridge... & other guests in the apartment complex were very friendly :) The location was great!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I found this to be a really nice place to stay great to have your own space.

Only complaint no TV in the bedroom, but then you do have a nice large flat screen in the living space.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

I stayed at the Quest on Lonsdale for three nights in November 2010. I was attending a conference in the city centre. The apartment was a one bedroom so it had separate lounge area, bathroom and bedroom with a kitchinette in the lounge area. It was extremely neat and tidy, comfy bed and very quiet. I was on the 2nd floor. The apartment was very handy to all things in the city centre - I was able to walk to the conference and to nearby shops. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. This was booked through my work so I didn't actually hand over any money at the counter. I thought it was reasonably priced, right next door to a convenience store. The only down side was that there was no DVD player with the TV.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
Thank Jal_lead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I satyed at the Quest on Lonsdale St. for 5 weeks while travelling to Melbourne for work. The rooms are a bit small and there are better places within the CBD at cheaper rates. However, nothing about the place really pushed us to want out.

The rooms were serviced properly and on time and most issues were resolved quite promptly. The folks manning the reception do need prodding from time to time, but all in all the stay was comfortable.

The location is great. It is right next to the Greek and Chinese precincts. Walking distance from the Theatres on Elizabeth and Spring Street and from the tram stops at Queen and Spring/Flinders Street. A great place from which to travel around central Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#81 of 162 in Melbourne
910 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 162 in Melbourne
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#83 of 162 in Melbourne
2,272 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#103 of 162 in Melbourne
562 reviews
Chinatown
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#102 of 162 in Melbourne
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Lonsdale

Address: 43 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Oakford Gordon Towers)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $121 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Lonsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Lonsdale provides 4 star serviced apartments in the centre of Melbourne. Located at 43 Lonsdale Street, between Spring and Exhibition Streets, Quest on Lonsdale is at the heart of the theatre, restaurants and government departments. Melbourne's key attractions are all within walking distance or if you prefer, a short tram ride. With apartments suitable for long term stays, Quest on Lonsdale can offer weekly and monthly rates for extended corporate and leisure accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Quest on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne
Quest On Lonsdale Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing