We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location, shame about noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Ranked #112 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times for work, I would say the hotel is good quality budget accomodation with character. Brilliant location in one of Melbournes old laneways, with a couple of good restaurants and great old pub only a few steps away. Downside is it has small laneways on each side where dumpsters and or rubbish bins are located, these are being filled and emptied at all hours so be aware. Check in staff have always been pretty friendly in my case. Dont expect the world at the price but you cannot go past the location.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iwtiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for Metro Apartments on Bank Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 381 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Fantastic location, walking distance to most things. Easiest booking experience in some time. Everything was taken care of. Parking was cheaper through metro and everything was organised perfectly. Traveled with partner and son and even fold out bed and all extras ready in room which usually doesn't happen at so many places we have stayed. Staff were helpful with directions and even cleaned on the second day of our stay. Highly recommend staff very helpful. Location is fabulous close to many attractions, and restaurants. Room was clean and had plenty of room for son. For shopping trip, city appointment/meeting, or just a city getaway, this is the perfect location with wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alabamaVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Metro Apartments at Bank Place are definitely a great place to stay in Melbourne should you require a great place to rest your head whilst still be central to the events and places that Melbourne City has to offer.

With shops, convenience stores, shopping centres and really close access to the Tram network, this hotel has definitely got the geographical location to its advantage.

The service provided is exceptional. From my initial queries, the duration of my stay and straight through to the checkout day, the front desk staff have been very conversational and assisted myself in getting to places.

The rooms are quite spacious (I’ve stayed in a one-bedroom suite) with enough space to store away the luggage and the clothes. With a washer/dryer available, we were able to wash our clothes during the trip which we required because of our long stay.

The bathrooms have a modern-chic design to it.

Housekeeping staff was very helpful.

If you are a traveller that requires a great bed without the added frills of luxury, a gym and room service, then this place is definitely a gem.

Overall, we’ve experienced positive upbeat personalities within a wonderful hotel; would consider staying here in our next Melbourne trip.

Room Tip: Request for a high room weeks prior to check in if you are noise sensitive as this central location...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marvs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Certainly the location is good, within one city block of the centre of Melbourne town. This is my second time I've stayed there, but next time I'll try elsewhere as the rooms are totally airless due to double glazing and no ducting to bring in fresh air (except the stove range hood air extraction and the shower recess air extraction). This time I stayed in a single room which included the kitchen, however there isn't the room for more than one suitcase. Average cost some $153 per night, including the higher cost of a weekend. (The last time I lashed out and had a separate lounge room off the bedroom but that was only with a big discount available.) The staff were helpful indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rossko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Good location, walking distance to most things in or around the CBD, although Taxi's seem to have no idea where it is!!

Wasn't too sure whether to give it a 3 or a 4 but went for a 4 in the end due to the price compared to other hotels in the area.

Hotel is meant to be a 4 star and I guess it is, however it doesnt "look" like one. Rooms lack style, look a bit basic/old and the room is poorly lit, however it is clean.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and also upgraded me on my arrival from a normal hotel room to a one bedroom studio.

Had no issues with noise unlike some of the other reviews but then I was staying midweek for 4 nights. I wouldn't rule out staying here again considering the price and the area it is in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexander_1984_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
YTI Garden Hotel
YTI Garden Hotel
#143 of 160 in Melbourne
245 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#84 of 160 in Melbourne
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Apartments on Bank Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $106 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing