We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with a few fails here and there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

When you're booking a weekend away in Melbourne you get to pick from all the high Saturday night rates of the city hotels. I chose Hotel Lindrum because it was the best value hotel available. As most people do I started price comparing on online travel agents and then went to the direct hotel website to book. They always are offering the same rates but it's easier to start on sites like Wotif and Booking.com.

the hotel is in a fantastic location, but because I knew Melbourne and had obviously checked the map I already knew this. It's just a short walk to anywhere in the CBD and to Melbourne Park (if you're travelling for the tennis). Flinders St Station is very close and it's easy to get cabs. The location is really very convenient and couldn't be better in Melbourne, I mean as long as you're in the CBD grid you're good right?

The room was quite large, but I did book a room at the front of the building to ensure I had an outlook. Unfortunately the decor was a little bit Novotel, a stunning building like Hotel Lindrum deserves more than birch IKEA coloured furniture. I've seen New York hotel rooms of a similar style but they have really decked them out with bold furniture that suits the style of room. Mirvac clearly felt the need to just furnish this hotel with their usual furniture suppliers with no regard for the special building they had on their hands. I don't expect any real effort from big hotel brands though, I mean why bother making it nice aren't the polished floors enough of an effort?

The carpet rug in the room had stains on it and the wooden floor in the bathroom had rot and was damaged from lack of protection from the shower water spillage.

The thing I loved most about this hotel was that everything was easy. Checked in with no problems, out with no problems and had a really breezy stay.

The thing I hate most about this hotel was the 'practical' idea of combining the reception desk and the bar so that you only have to pay one person rather than two people to service two very different parts of the business. The printer next to the alcohol next to the keyboard near the coffee machine doesn't really do it for me. There was no picture of this on the internet that's for sure, what an eye sore in such a beautifully stunning building.

I've since travelled to Melbourne and didn't stay at Lindrum again. Not because I wouldn't stay there again at all, I'm just not very loyal to hotels and have found better value deals with other hotels on different trips.

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure you book a more expensive room at the front of the building with bay wi...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 746 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

If something different from the 5 star chains is something you want (ie. less corporate/formal/crowded), then the Lindrum is well worth a thought. Feel like you are out of the city, but located within 'the CBD grid'. Brekkie was good without being spectacular, but

Room Tip: Muscle up for a Deluxe room looking south.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LazySeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a lovely 3-night stay at this hotel. Location was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a "superior king room" - not only stylishly decorated but spacious, clean and with a very comfortable bed. The lobby downstairs was just beautiful and perfect for a drink before going out to one of Melbourne's fantastic cafes or restaurants. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Melbourne. The only (minor) downside for us was that there wasn't a gym located within the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays_for_us_2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here in dec and had an excellent stay. This place used to be a billiard house and there is still a billiard table available for guests. Rooms nice and refreshingly simple. Great little bar behind reception. Hotel has no facilities like gym but it's in the city so very well located . For the price it is great value

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Melbourne has many charms and as former resident and now a regular traveller to that lovely city I have have sampled many of its sights but if it is a hotel you are looking for then Hotel Lindrum is my idea of a perfect place to stay. The rooms are spacious and modern but manage to maintain the character of the building's history. The restaurant serves a small selection of excellent food and the bar area is relaxed and informal (with a billiard table to add to the atmosphere). I agree with the other reviewers though, the absolute standout here is the staff. They are well-informed, attentive, helpful, and strike just the right balance between familiarity and formality. I stay there regularly and couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the eastern side of the building away from the car park next door.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,630 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
1,108 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#3 of 160 in Melbourne
583 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
8,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $206 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing