We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We liked it”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

What we expect from a five star hotel. Nothing stood out but everything was well done. I had a drink in the bar on my own and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms are small but modern and clean. The television positioning is mentioned regularly on tripadvisor but is okay to watch from bed. The rooms face into the central area of the hotel and I was a little disappointed you could not go out onto the small balcony but I understand why. We went on the tram car restaurant which was a short walk or taxi (weather was typical Melbourne in winter). Good location for restaurants, trams, Etihad stadium etc. The blinds are fantastic and the room dark at all hours meaning a sleep in was assured. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast downstairs was okay but cramped when inside the hot food area. The front desk staff were attentive and the bell desk always smiled and offered assistance. Overall a good stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headinajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear headinajar,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be welcoming, attentive and friendly and that you liked the location of the hotel. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the hot food area during breakfast service, I will ensure that this feedback is passed onto the relevant department.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    571
    199
    65
    39
See reviews for
254
861
129
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Rialto provide the usual high Intercontinental ambassador standard. Prior to our arrival I had emailed arrange a flower delivery to our room for our wedding anniversary. As well as the usual upgrade the hotel treated us to an excellent bottle of champagne and a delivered a stunning bouquet of roses as requested. The room was very comfortable - we spent a very enjoyable weekend there prior to a busy week in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear PaulM,

Thank you for your positive review, I was happy to read that you had an enjoyable weekend celebrating your anniversary. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Rialto feels like a 5 star hotel - doorman, bell boys, ambiance in the lobby but it just does not quite meet the grade. Whenever I stay here there always seems to be a queue at reception for check in/out. More staff at peak times? In room check in? This does not seem to happen with the same frequency at other hotels.
The rooms are comfortable although I fully agree with a previous reviewer who questioned the layout. There is nowhere to watch tv except the bed, the giant desk is overkill and no ipod dock. The bed however was fabulous and I had a great night's sleep.I was a bit disappointed that there was no bath - surely this should be a standard for all 5 star hotels?
The highlight of my stay was my spur of the moment trip to the spa where the lovely Rita and the decor transported me from cold, grey Melbourne to tropical Bali with a fantastic massage. Highly recommended an reasonably priced.
I tend to alternate between the Rialto and the Crowne Plaza for my regular Melbourne stays and although the Crowne is not as glam, it seems to operate more smoothly and the rooms have the advantage of not opening onto an atrium (I am never sure if this works for me - promotes a mild form of claustrophobia). I am back at the Rialto this week so I will see how the operations fare this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear indiga_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was please to read that you had a good nights sleep at the hotel but disappointed that you didn't have the wonderful experience that we aim to provide for our guests. We really value your feedback and continually aim to improve our guest experience.

We are very pleased to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us this week. I would be keen to greet you personally and discuss how we can make your stay even more enjoyable next time. I will send you a private message with my email address and encourage you to contact me.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Rude and distracted staff overall. They see you around hotel and don't even greet you. Not something we would expect from a 5-star hotel. Check in receptionist chatted with colleague rather than attend us, bell boy dropped bags and left, concierge couldn't even recommend and book a table for us after making promises he would. Very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear HDaB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was disheartened to read that you left our hotel disappointed. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience and welcome you to contact me so that we can discuss the details of your stay.

I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again to show you the service that we strive to deliver to all of our guests. Should you have the chance to return to the hotel please contact me directly so that I may assist with your booking, I will message you my email address and I invite you to please contact me.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

You can pamper yourself in this great but expensive downtown hotel.
It is a historic building converted into a hotel, and the lack of exterior windows in some rooms is its biggest weakness.
If you decide to shell out $315/night (internet is extra at $30/day, same with breakfast) make sure you go to the Eclipse Café on the street level – and try their delicious cappuccinos… The Café is a separate business and is not part of the hotel, but it sure adds to the great experience. Personally, I think their coffees beat Italy hands down!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dman_DW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Dman_DW,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was pleased to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your coffee at Eclipse.

May I suggest that if you are looking to purchase internet and breakfast upon on your next visit, that you upgrade into a Club InterContinental room? As well as being a superior room type, the Club InterContinental Lounge also includes breakfast, afternoon tea, evening drinks and canapés as well as Internet access and use of our iPad. Most of our guests find this to be very good value if you will be using these services.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,606 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 159 in Melbourne
1,939 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,745 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $174 - $408
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing