We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #40 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some minor issues”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We are Priority Privilege Members and booked a club room for 6 days. Check in was just okay. Although we had booked for 6 nights, but she could only see 2 nights. Spent some time looking for the other 4 nights, even though it was clearly written on my confirmation. Mistake in the bill on check out, and had to get a manager to sort it out. Once he stepped into the conversation it was sorted very quickly. The guy at front entrance (wears a bowler hat) was very friendly and helpful. He entertained us with a joke or two every morning.
Room cleanliness and housekeeping excellent with turndown service. We gratefully had room with street view, as I didn’t like the look of the rooms without. Size of the room and bathroom was fine, with walk in shower and bath.
The club facilities were adequate but some minor issues of inconsistent service and supplies niggled. There were only 3 tables available for breakfast, and if they were taken we then had to eat breakfast seated at a low armchair with a high table. It was very uncomfortable. On first 3 mornings were offered eggs with breakfast, on the last 3 mornings there were no egg offers at all. Evening canapes were cheeses and sushi, plus a chefs tasting plate, which was a nice treat. There seemed to be no attempt to replenish bar supplies as they ran out of Sauvignon Blanc for 3 whole nights. How could that happen in a major hotel? Felt the club lounge was understaffed and only as good as the personnel on duty.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window to the street outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bajusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear bajusnz,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your very detailed review. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any confusion with your reservation upon check in, I was happy to read that this issue was resolved for you. I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the Club InterContinental Lounge and staffing levels, I will be sure to share this with the Club InterContinental team.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in future.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    578
    201
    67
    41
See reviews for
260
865
129
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at this hotel last week. We can not speak more highly of the service: check in staff, 'bell boys' (for want of a better expression!), concierge; everyone was welcoming, efficient and helpful. We were very impressed. The room we had was lovely (one minor disappointment was that there was no bath in our king bed room, but I got over that quickly) and the block out blinds made the room pitch black - exactly what you need when away from the children and wanting to sleep in.
The only minor problem was that we were there last Sunday when the hotel was without power for about 5 hours. When we checked in late the night before, the manager on duty came and explained what was going to happen and issued us with a glow stick. We already had plans to be out for most of the day and ended up only being in the hotel for a little while in the early evening before we went to the movies. The staff were very efficient and helpful in what was a difficult situation. We were escorted to our room so we could get there safely and there were lots of glow sticks around (and the staff had torches I think). My husband ended up playing 'Star Wars' with one of the staff (how embarrassing!!). We were very impressed with how this situation was managed by the staff.
Thank you to everyone there. It was a great break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Melissa O,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your wonderful feedback. It pleased me so much to read your kind comments about the hotel team and I will be certain to share this with them.
I would also like to thank you very much for your great comments about the power outage evening, this was a very difficult challenge for the team and your support was very much appreciated while we managed the situation.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is one of my favourite hotels in Melbourne.
I've stayed here a number of times and have always been happy with the service and the quality of rooms/food.
My Last business trip I flew my partner down with me and we stayed here, she was hopeing for a Spa bath and was a little bit dissapointed when she realised there wasn't one.
I called reception and they advised they could upgrade us to a suite with a bath :)
The concierge was helpful as always and the breakfast good.
I'll be back soon :)

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, you never know!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Zimbyzim,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your fantastic review. We are so pleased that on this occasion we were able to accommodate your upgrade request. and that you and your wife had a lovely stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Celebrating my wife's 40th birthday, we recently booked a club room at the Intercontinental Melbourne. We expected to have a nice experience, but did not expect to have an amazing experience. I mentioned in my booking request that it was my wife's 40th and staff went "beyond the call" to make our stay a pleasurable and memorable one. The room we were given was probably the best I have stayed in, so much so we didn't really feel the need to leave during our stay (other than wandering down a flight of stairs to the club lounge)! Fantastic time all round and it excelled even my high expectations. Thanks to everyone who made our stay memorable. As far as I am concerned this is the hotel of choice when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear David C,
Thank you very much for sharing with me your review and may I please take this opportunity to wish your wife a very happy birthday! Special occasions indeed deserve a special experience and I am so happy that my team and I were able to provide this to you.
The entire hotel team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, hopefully before your next birthday!
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

i had a two night stay with my girlfriend and we got everything we hoped for and more...i cant wait to stay here again, its right in the centre and close to everything.
staff are great, friendly and they know exactly what they are doing.
food was excellent and the bar staff were great!!
the rooms are designed for comfort and we enjoyed the relaxed style :D

STAY HERE :D

Room Tip: everything is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear mike f,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful review. I was so happy to read of your great experience and we look hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,489 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,661 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,203 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Property: InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $200 - $420
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, IHG, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing