We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have just finished a 5 month work contract in Melbourne, where the Grand Mecure on Flinders Lane was my home away from home. The rooms were comfortable, clean, well equipped and newly renovated in a tasteful style. Small kitchenette allowing you to prepare light meals.

All rooms have the same decor, even to the point of the same photos in the same places in each room - so that even though I usually had a different room on a different floor, I felt at home and knew exactly where everything was.

The staff were friendly and would often have my stored luggage waiting and waiting at the concierge desk for when I checked in. From time to time, I experienced room upgrades. If ever there was a problem (which was exceedingly rare), the staff were very professional and provided more than adequate solutions.

Location was perfect - short walking distance from supermarket, eateries, public transport and everything else you might need. Key plus was the close proximities to several well-known Melbourne laneways.

Only downside was that the rooms and decor were a bit dark (mainly black finishings) - but that was just a minor thing.

Highly recommend, and will stay here in the future for business or private travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to avoid street level noise (if having the window open).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barefootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Barefootprint,

Thank you so much for posting your review. We are delighted to read that your extended stay with us was a "home away from home" experience. Extensive refurbishment of the property was completed in October 2011. It is good to hear from guests that this work has been a success.

We place a high degree of importance on guest satisfaction as it help us in the constant monitoring of quality and service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated - we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    178
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
100
229
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a great night out at the theatre and convenient to check in for the night. A parking spot was booked prior to arrival. ($30 plus credit card surcharge) Theatre and restaraunts were all walking distance which added to the fun.
Rooms all newly refurbished, tasteful ,clean and modern, lovely bathroom with thick towels. We stayed in the studio room, due to not needing cooking facilities, all we needed for a one night stay. Option to check out at 11am which I thought was good, a chance to eat out for breakfast before departing.
Perfect location!
Our compendium needed updating as it stated parking to be $25, which was not honored at the desk.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP3775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Accor Vacation Club at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear JP3775,

Thank you so much for posting your review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your night out at the theatre and restaurants nearby. The apartments are certainly in a great spot to take in everything that Melbourne has to offer. The extensive refurbishment of the entire property was completed in October 2011. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the studio and the 11am check out. I would be happy to post you an up to date Holiday Booklet. Please contact me on the usual Member Services telephone number, my name is Sharon. All feedback is appreciated as the constant monitoring of guest satisfaction is of great importance to us here at Accor Vacation Club.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sharon - Member Services, Accor Vacation Club
"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Comfortable and spacious. Good kitchen for basic meals. No room service and a walk to more reasonable restaurants. They should install door chains as card entry system failed which was worrying.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Canberra Aussie Mum,

Thank you for posting your comments after your recent stay. We understand from the General Manager that the problem with the card entry system is being addressed. We hope that you enjoyed the wine and the late check out.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,517 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#6 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments

Property: The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Address: 321 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $207 - $413
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane was completely refurbished in September 2011, when it celebrated its 90th anniversary. The refurbishment design philosophy drew inspiration from the early "fashion house" days with a view of creating an expression of sophisticated elegance, through an individual design concept that would remain unique to The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane. The result has turned this "all suite" apartment building into a market leading boutique hotel. Presented is a contemporary range of sophisticated one bedroom suites that infuse modern design philosophies with the architectural and historical heritage of the building. Archival Melbourne scenes are displayed in the black and white artwork that adorn the corridors, evolving into a celebration of Melbourne's modern icons throughout the suites. With the retention of the original detailed cornice and architraves, blended with contemporary designer furniture and fittings and modern state of the art appliances, the change is exceptional. The sophisticated colour palette is the key design element, from charcoal European bathroom tiles, contrasted by the white, chrome and glass designer fixtures to the use of dark veneers, stainless steel, leather and stone throughout the design.New Guest Features include The Courtyard which is a European inspired inner city escape that provides guests with an intimate courtyard garden to share a drink with friends or to simply relax and escape the hustle and bustle of the city. While the days of fashion are well in the past at 321 Flinders Lane, those looking for a fashion experience will not be disappointed with The Sebel Melbourne's Flinders Lane location. Ideally located between Elizabeth and Queen Street, it is in close proximity to Melbourne's shopping, and entertainment district with the added benefit of having Melbourne's famous cafe culture and the iconic Flinders Street Station right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Flinders Lane Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Accor Hotel Melbourne
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing