We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,832)
Filter reviews
2,832 results
Traveller rating
636
1,001
681
316
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
636
1,001
681
316
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool great location lonsdale street small balcony buffet breakfast room service central location would stay again chinatown mcg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 2,832 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2019

2 rooms booked on the same booking, they were allocated 2 floors apart . Staff couldn’t/wouldn’t acknowledge the problem with this. Though the room was adequate the bathroom facilities were unpleasantly dated and desperately need refurbishing, an exhaust fan would help.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Guide313316
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Dear Guide313316
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Melbourne and we're glad you found our rooms to be suitable for your needs. We are sorry to hear of any confusion with your bookings, please rest assured that, when we receive notice from our guests that are travelling together, we do our utmost to provide rooms that are as close to each other as possible for their comfort and convenience. Our team are available 24/7 to assist with any needs that arise during your stay and I'm confident that we could have worked together to find a suitable solution. Our rooms are currently undergoing renovations and all our Superior and Premier rooms have newly renovated bathrooms with modern furnishings and luxurious rain showers - it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future to experience one of our refurbished rooms for yourself. We hope to see you again at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019 via mobile

This hotel didn’t look as good as the pictures online ,the room was dirty around the walls and the windows ,unfortunately it’s in between two building sites which made it a very noisy in the room ,good location but wouldn’t go back

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank petereI944TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Dear petereI944TW
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, in the heart of Melbourne. Being ideally located in the CBD, does mean that we do find ourselves in the hub of it all, and cities can get noisy! However, we generally find that our end of Lonsdale Street is very active without being too raucous so it's disappointing to hear that you were affected by this. We are certainly sorry to receive your feedback about your room and can assure you we are following up with our housekeeping teams to ensure that the cleanliness standards of all our rooms are kept at the highest level. We do hope you'll consider staying with us again at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, we are confident we can provide for you an experience that will not only meet expectations but hopefully can exceed them. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

Very average hotel nothing sets it apart from any other hotel In the same price range. Service average. The air conditioners in the rooms are rather loud.
Hotel is in the vicinity of China Town an easy walk to get around.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jokat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2019 via mobile

Chose this place because of LOCATION ( near restaurants and bars / shops ETC ). Room is DECENT and comfortable ( bed is too soft ). It have roof top pool ( presumed temperature controlled since it was too warm: like in a warm bath ) and simple gym. Asked for late check out and the reply is yes: 12pm OK ( which is normal for most hotels ) or extra AD25 / hour! I know this is the 2 WEEKS for AO but this is silly....

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ianfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2019

We had 5 nights at the Grand and was very satisfied. Hanna on reception was fantastic. Nothing was to much trouble. She overdelived on each of our requests and is a real credit. Additionally, after a long day at the tennis having the roof top pool open till 11pm was a real bonus.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanDresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Hotel Operations Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Dear IanDresser
Thank you kindly for your terrific review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are so happy to hear that you were able to experience our fabulous roof top pool after a long, hot day at the Australian Open. We will be sure to pass on your wonderful feedback to Hannah and all our Front Desk team. We hope to welcome you back again soon to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne. Kindest regards, Tara Strickland, Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews