We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$139
Expedia.com
AU$121
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$121
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,104)
Filter reviews
3,104 results
Traveller rating
1,244
1,238
431
117
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,244
1,238
431
117
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pensione hotel shoebox room southern cross station great location rooms are small spencer street short stay crown casino the ground floor double bed sky bus tram stop public transport would stay again one night stay min walk etihad stadium
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,170 - 1,175 of 3,104 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

You could not get much closer to Melbourne's Southern Cross station and to the heart of Melbourne as it was when founded. The Yarra is nearby. Need you fear the onetime waterfront? Not really. This is a magnificently renovated building, with all the comfort and security you could wish for. Good value and service.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael3496
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel_Allia_AM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Dear Michael3496,

Glad to hear your experience was one of convenience and comfort!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

See you next visit!

Team@Pensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016


Very clean, smart and comfortable room. Although a 'shoebox' room, I was surprised by the size and yes the bathroom was tiny, particularly the hand basin. It was certainly manageable for short a stay. Very sharp and pleasant deco throughout with friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 516viviennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel_Allia_AM, General Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi 516viviennes,

Wonderful to hear you were impressed with the hotel, our team and the service!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warmest regards

Team@Pensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast on the way to our Neighbours tour. (Just round the corner)
We loved the decor, there was a few people in but it wasn't overly busy. We had some breakfast toasted sandwiches with some fresh orange.
Service was quick, food was lovely. Staff were very friendly. Price was ok.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mrsk136
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel_Allia_AM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Dear Tootsies1,
Thank you for your kind review of Oliviers Cafe. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and the staff will be thrilled with your lovely feedback. We wish you a great weekend, and you are always welcome to return.
Warm regards, Team@Pensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The room was nice , although small. I was disappointed that there was no onsite parking, although there was secure parking close by and the reception staff were very helpful. Even gave me a map and directions of the city. Close to most things and roughly 10 mins brisk walk to the shopping city centre.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katherinet641
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel_Allia_AM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear katherinet641,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It was good to see that you enjoyed everything and we appreciate the recognition of our dedicated staff. We wish you a great weekend and hope to see you again in the future.
Warm regards, Team@Pensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Stayed in a 3 bedroom , c,ran and well presented , bathroom tiny but ok, staff were great nothing was too much trouble , great location . Due to change in circumstances had to change booking from 2 bed to 3 bed this was done easily but it was about double the original price

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniel_Allia_AM, Front Office Manager at Best Western Melbourne City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear stephenS8650YM,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We wish you a great finish to your week and cant wait to have you back with us in the near future.
Warm regards,
Team@Pensione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews