We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Marriott” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #12 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magic Marriott”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have just returned from a two day business trip where I stayed at the Marriott in Melbourne. I was very impressed. This is a hotel where staff go out of their way to make you feel special. From simple things like always using your name when you ring reception to somone taking the trouble to walk you to the lift, this hotel has courtesy down to a fine art. I found every staff member polite and willing to help in any way they could. Service was prompt and delivered with a smile. My room was beautifully clean and well appointed with everything a traveller could wish for. Bedding was white and crisp and pillows soft and copious. Bathroom very clean and towels soft and white. Attention to detail was appreciated such spare tissue boxes to the lovely Marriott robes provided for use whilst at the hotel and made my stay luxurious andspecial. There is good size television in the room and furniture is modern and tasteful. Breakfast was served on time and of a good standard and although my eggs benedict could have been hotter the first morning it arrived, I concede that it is difficult to keep food warm from kitchen to room in such a busy hotel. The hotel is in a good location for tourists and most places I needed to go were reached by walking. This was a most impressive visit and there is nothing negative I can say about the Marriott except I did not have long enough there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstar53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    443
    94
    33
    14
See reviews for
291
403
78
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you’re visiting Melbourne, the Marriott is a very good choice for accommodations. It has a great location, which right in the middle of the city, and close to transportation. The staff is friendly (as are most Australians) and accessible. The rooms are large, not well-organized, lacking drawer space (something Americans are used to having). There is no bathtub, which annoyed me, but probably not many travelers. However, the shower is great. The lighting in the bathroom is poor, making it difficult to apply makeup. The bed is very comfortable, and the TV is great, being new and very large. During our stay, the Internet was free to every Marriott Rewards member, even if you sign up on the spot (which is free).
Besides the room, the fitness center is quite decent, as is the pool. The biggest problem was the restaurant. There are OK choices for breakfast, but the service was chaotic (you have to order the coffee), although the staff was trying hard to accommodate everyone. I think we hit it during a busy time. However, in a good hotel, that should not be an excuse for poor service. Also of note is that the hotel was undergoing renovations, so I expect more improvements are on the horizon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

A fantastic hotel with amazingly helpful staff. Went for a special trip with my daughter for our first girls weekend, saw a show at the Her Majesty's just 1/2 block down. A slight bungle initially with our room but it was rectified and we were looked after so well from the miniute we arrived to the minute we departed.
I didn't think hotels like this still existed, BUT THEY DO...I think we'll start saving for our next trip now!!!

Room Tip: if you have a bed request ie, 2 double beds, phone ahead to confirm this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasiaw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a nice hotel. The lobby always smells so good, i think they must have some kind of spray thing out there. Very modern looking but inviting. Nice restaurant, bar, coffee place downstairs. Have had coffee & cake down there and it was very good. This is an excellent location and close to a lot of things to do here. I would recommend it. very safe neighborhood and even on the weekends it is a busy town. plenty of places nearby to eat, drink, & sight see.

Room Tip: my room faces a wall of a building next door. the good this is there is no windows on that wall so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pchess12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My client put me up here for 12 nights. I had some previous experience with the hotel because of work functions in the meeting rooms and hence was not that enthused about the idea of staying here for such a time.

I should not have worried.

Two things stand out about the hotel:
- the rooms have been refurbished and were comfortable, funky, well sized and practical. In Room 213, the desk had accessible power and date cables (a bugbear of mine), the bed was incredibly comfortable, the room came with a toaster, and the shower was huge with double shower heads (including a rainfall head). The thing that impressed me most, however, was the style that the interior design had, particularly the nice wood/laminate furniture and highlight panels, offset by the tasteful use of mirrors and old (1950s) photos of the Melbourne CBD (which carried out to public spaces as well).
- the staff were incredibly helpful (and plentiful). There always seemed to be multiple staff at the lifts and in the lobby who would say hello and offer some form of assistance.

Without a doubt I would head back to the Melbourne Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremythorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#20 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#11 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Marriott Hotel

Property: Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Address: Corner Exhibition & Lonsdale Streets, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $216 - $561
Hotel Class:5 star — Melbourne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, the luxury Melbourne Marriott Hotel features exceptional facilities and unparalleled service. Boutique in size yet grand in style, our hotel offers the perfect welcome. Our accommodations are at the center of the city's theater precinct and just minutes from the shopping delights of Bourke and Collins streets. Additionally, our hotel places you within a short distance from the Melbourne Museum, Royal Exhibition Building and the cultural and culinary extravaganza of Chinatown.For business travelers, we offer on-site event managers, exceptional catering and a full-service business center. Discover a leader among luxury hotels at Marriott Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Melbourne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Melbourne
Melbourne Marriott Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing