We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you in 2019”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

My favourite hotel in Melbourne closed for renovation, reopening in 2019. They were occupied up till the last day as seen from the full car park on the last three nights of my stay from 27-30April. It was bittersweet to happen to stay before the closure, but everything was fine including the friendly staff, clean rooms and working amenities. Look forward to 2019 reopening. Good luck.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank rywwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2017

I stayed twin bed room and it was clean and gorgeous. And laundry was free to use with dry. It was convenience to go the city. Just took 5min by tram from swanston st and 15min by walking. The restaurants were near around the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yukighassani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Easy, quick check in. Clean & tidy room, with all of the amenities you could wish for. The bed was a little firm for my comfort, but otherwise had a great stay here. The location was perfect for accessing the top end of the city & restaurants in Lygon St. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texaroo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight when we were in town to see a show.
The room was ok but is showing its age and is rough in places. The bath for example had cracks and pitted stains and the towel hangers were coming away from the wall.
There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room and there was also complimentary wifi but it was slow and the connection was sketchy.
The bed was quite good and we could have enjoyed a peaceful lay in except for the very noisy cleaning staff who seemed to congregate outside our room (323). Add to this that one of the staff dropped a full tray of breakfast outside our door and our sleep quality was only so so.
The final annoyance was getting slugged an additional $20 in parking when we checked out. I accept that parking in the city costs but this shouldn't be added to the room costs when you're parking at the place you're staying.
It was ok here and at the price I'd stay again but it's not great quality.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Book the motel through Booking.com all went smoothly no hassles there, checked in mid afternoon all went smoothly. The location of the motel suited us just fine as we wanted to stick around Lygon Street and check out the restaurants and were only staying overnight anyway.
The room was clean and tidy, bed was good the only issue was the elevator wasn't working, but were only on the first floor anyway so it didn't bother us too much. The parking cost an extra 20 dollars but that's about the going rate in a lot of motels in Melbourne plenty of room to park as well.
Would recommend this place to anyone and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Downtowner, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Henry,
Good morning and thank you for choosing to stay at The Downtowner on Lygon Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and please accept our apologies in regards to the lift, we hope that it was not too much of an inconvenience.

Best regards, Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#63 of 161 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#70 of 161 in Melbourne
2,276 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $202 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne
Quality Hotel Downtowner On Lygon Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing