We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (784)
Filter reviews
784 results
Traveller rating
251
401
105
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
401
105
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold melbourne gaolspa roomroom was cleancar parkingstay there againwithin walking distancemelbourne cityyour doorstepearly checkchecking incentral locationfree trammotelnoisebathtoaster
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 784 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I will be back again, after discovering the Quality Downtowner Hotel on Lygon!
I had a spacious, well appointed room with a view overlooking Lygon Street.
It was quiet, comfortable clean and affordable, having booked a genius deal with booking.com, for a little over A$100!

Lygon Street has been my favourite Melbourne hangout since the 1960s. I used to live close by and regularly go to the Nova Cinema for non Hollywood and foreign movies, for dining at one or more of the fabulous restaurants that Lygon Street is famous for, or to attend events at the almost neighbouring and historic, heritage listed Trades Hall, currrently one of the venues for the Melbourne International Comdey Festival, throughout April.

Rooms were spotlessly clean, quite well appointed, with a medium sized television, wifi and tea and coffee making facilities.
Generous shared balcony space outside and some terrific greenery in the car park courtyard gave options for spending private time outdoors.

Room 105 was delightfully light and airy. New carpet would make it even more appealing, as the bathroom has been fabulously renovated, with a generous shower and bench space. Plenty of power outlets for charging phones and cameras and very good lighting for a hotel room, which often seem to be on the dim and romantic side, when their clients are actually more often wanting their room as temporary office space with good lighting for work and reading!
A king sized bed and a generous table and chairs still left a generous sense of space.

The ceilings were pretty low, but that may be because I am used to very high ones.

There was plenty of car parking.

As for the staff at reception and on domestic duties, they were highly obliging, friendly and delightful and went out of their way to make my stay a delight!

Thankyou Downtowner; the allure of Lygon Street beckons stronger than ever, thanks to your comforts and hospitality!

It may not be 5 star, but the prices for this fabulous area of Melbourne, so close to the city centre, where most things are actually walking distance, or a short and easy tram ride away, were not 5 star either!
If you want value for money, with a high level of comfort, close to the city centre and in the heart of some of the best eating and attractions in Melbourne, then the Downtowner would be hard to beat!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for city views or views out over Lygon St or the Church next door.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

- Good location near city centre with lots of restaurants and cafes nearby
- Hotel is dated, but room size is good, lots of storage/closet space and kept clean
- AC is cold and shower water pressure is strong
- Toiletries are limited, but otherwise well equip with tea/coffee, hairdryer and microwave
- Service is average. Checkin and out was fairly quick and easy, but staff was not particularly friendly
- Wifi was included in package and coverage was sufficient
- Rate is reasonable considering the above
- Parking costs an additional $15 per day

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESInspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear ESInspired

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.
On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Great little spot to stay close to the city and close to all the fine wining and dining along Lygon Street.
Quality Hotel is the right name for this establishment lovely clean rooms great bed and pillows. Finished of with a lovely cooked breakfast in the restaurant, you should enjoy this one .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Peter M
We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.

On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We asked for a quiet room and the staff provided this,
the breakfast was excellent and lovely and fresh,
The room was excellent, but I do prefer a shower not over the bath,
The room was clean and the complementary bottle of water was very lovely surprise

Room Tip: If you wish a quieter room ask on booking
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Leanne J
We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.
On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The rooms were clean and staff were great, but for the price was not worth it as the so called recently renovated room would have been in the 90's so very dated and rough around the edges. Carpet torn elevator knocked around spa did not work. Had breakfast there was very nice.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Wayne P

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.
We are closing at the end of April for a full refurbishment and looking to reopen in 2019.
On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews