We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
Ranked #69 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Our daughter booked this property to take her bubb to the museum and zoo and then was unable to go due to illness. We filled the reservation for her. Room was spacious, thoughtful little things like a toaster and plates and knives for a quick breaky, but the bed, even though KS, I was sliding down it all night due to a dippy mattress and the set up of a step into a bath to have a shower, we felt, was suicidal, an accident waiting to happen. The window did not shut tightly so the traffic noise was very loud as were the cases on wheels going past our door early and noise above. Basically, this is an old premises that could be improved with the bathroom being revamped, eliminating that stained old spa jet bath, and an adjustment to the window. But for location as to why our daughter booked this on a budget, it was good. The staff were polite and having happy hour next door was handy, but no atmosphere. Location to Lygon Street restaurants, perfect.

Room Tip: A room that is inside the building, not the open section to the car park as we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017

I will be back again, after discovering the Quality Downtowner Hotel on Lygon!
I had a spacious, well appointed room with a view overlooking Lygon Street.
It was quiet, comfortable clean and affordable, having booked a genius deal with booking.com, for a little over A$100!

Lygon Street has been my favourite Melbourne hangout since the 1960s. I used to live close by and regularly go to the Nova Cinema for non Hollywood and foreign movies, for dining at one or more of the fabulous restaurants that Lygon Street is famous for, or to attend events at the almost neighbouring and historic, heritage listed Trades Hall, currrently one of the venues for the Melbourne International Comdey Festival, throughout April.

Rooms were spotlessly clean, quite well appointed, with a medium sized television, wifi and tea and coffee making facilities.
Generous shared balcony space outside and some terrific greenery in the car park courtyard gave options for spending private time outdoors.

Room 105 was delightfully light and airy. New carpet would make it even more appealing, as the bathroom has been fabulously renovated, with a generous shower and bench space. Plenty of power outlets for charging phones and cameras and very good lighting for a hotel room, which often seem to be on the dim and romantic side, when their clients are actually more often wanting their room as temporary office space with good lighting for work and reading!
A king sized bed and a generous table and chairs still left a generous sense of space.

The ceilings were pretty low, but that may be because I am used to very high ones.

There was plenty of car parking.

As for the staff at reception and on domestic duties, they were highly obliging, friendly and delightful and went out of their way to make my stay a delight!

Thankyou Downtowner; the allure of Lygon Street beckons stronger than ever, thanks to your comforts and hospitality!

It may not be 5 star, but the prices for this fabulous area of Melbourne, so close to the city centre, where most things are actually walking distance, or a short and easy tram ride away, were not 5 star either!
If you want value for money, with a high level of comfort, close to the city centre and in the heart of some of the best eating and attractions in Melbourne, then the Downtowner would be hard to beat!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for city views or views out over Lygon St or the Church next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

- Good location near city centre with lots of restaurants and cafes nearby
- Hotel is dated, but room size is good, lots of storage/closet space and kept clean
- AC is cold and shower water pressure is strong
- Toiletries are limited, but otherwise well equip with tea/coffee, hairdryer and microwave
- Service is average. Checkin and out was fairly quick and easy, but staff was not particularly friendly
- Wifi was included in package and coverage was sufficient
- Rate is reasonable considering the above
- Parking costs an additional $15 per day

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESInspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear ESInspired

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.
On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Great little spot to stay close to the city and close to all the fine wining and dining along Lygon Street.
Quality Hotel is the right name for this establishment lovely clean rooms great bed and pillows. Finished of with a lovely cooked breakfast in the restaurant, you should enjoy this one .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Peter M
We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.

On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We asked for a quiet room and the staff provided this,
the breakfast was excellent and lovely and fresh,
The room was excellent, but I do prefer a shower not over the bath,
The room was clean and the complementary bottle of water was very lovely surprise

Room Tip: If you wish a quieter room ask on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Dear Leanne J
We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne.
We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team.
On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner on Lygon Hotel we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Regards
The Downtowner Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#63 of 161 in Melbourne
456 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#70 of 161 in Melbourne
2,276 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $202 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne
Quality Hotel Downtowner On Lygon Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing