We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowne over Crown anyway. Lovely hotel Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #84 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza hotel for 2 nights. It's a lovely hotel in a great location whilst at one edge of the city, it is very close to the Crown Casino, no association, on the river and the Docklands. The location is good, and it is a lovely walk to many of the restaurants and bars of the south bank - the CBD  of town is about 15-20 mins away, as is the Rod Laver tennis stadium and the MCG. You should definitely consider this hotel especially if you want to be down the Casino end of town. The rooms are large and, most importantly that great IHG pillow menu, so you have  a choice of pillows of varying firmness, style also feather/down, options.

This was a two night  Easter  trip and I was using a two for one night Priority Privilege voucher, this shouldn't be confused with the Priority  Club by IHG which is brilliant and free to join. Priority Privilege is sold at close to $300 PA as a separate program and whilst it all sounds good it really isn't, so don't fall for it.To be honest I probably didn't make the most of what the program  had to offer but it's over rated and not worth it.

But back to the Crowne Plaza, I suppose I mentioned the above as sometimes on these vouchers you don't expect the best rooms, But I don't know if it is because I'm a Priority Club Platinum member I was given a grand view river suite- the reception staff are lovely and very welcoming, they are efficient and helpful, giving me a map and some recommendations, and whilst I go to Melbourne a y and choose to stay in another IHG property close by. They did introduce me to some things i hadn't heard of before. If i didn't have a close friendship with the other hotel I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this one. 
The breakfasts are good and the rooms have everything you need, I was on an upper level, and had room service one evening late supper and it came quickly, well served and hot. They too have a good variety and many tasty, yummy and healthy options, and the right sweet treats.

Taxis are in abundance and a very close walk to trams and the city circle tram that takes you all around the city. The get on stop for the Tram Restaurant is also nearby. This is a lovely Hotel, maybe overshadowed by some grandeur and newer hotels very nearby, but if your looking for a friendlier settled in Hotel and if like me your a Priority Club member then this hotel is very good.

Room Tip: Upper levels river front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Vangeinternational,

What a very thorough and well thought out review!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Melbourne over Easter.
You certainly found your way around the city!

We are disappointed that you didn't find the Priority Privilege program worthwhile, however you are right about our Priority Club Rewards program - free to join, and no black out dates. Our members have access to a late checkout depending on availability, and a newspaper on weekdays. Points earned don't expire, so it is very worthwhile joining!

We want to thank you again for your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed yourself here at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon next time you find yourself in Melbourne.

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,248 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Business trip. Very clean, staff very friendly and helpful.
Located close to convention center, and Crown casino on the river - nice view
Rooms are not 21st century stile, but ok.
Food in the restaurant very good, had business dinner fish and steaks well coooked

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdictedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We arrived early in the morning on the overnight train from Sydney and asked if it would be possible to check in early. This was no problem and were even given a room upgrade. The room was good with views over the river and convention centre. Breakfast was excellent. We took advantage of the 30 minutes free wifi per day in the lobby area which was enough time to catch up on our emails. The hotel is in an excellent location for the free tram which we used to travel around the city. There are restaurants along the river although some are expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jones1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Good hotel if travelling for business. Comfortable bed and hot shower. Park in the Wilson's carpark for $14 rather than $35 for valet...it is only a 200 metre walk. Breakfast in the lobby bar for me was also a better option than the lower floor buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have stayed at the CP a couple of times now. Usually to attend Conference just across the river. It is well located for Conference centre, Casino, restaurants and a few blocks to some excellent shopping. The rooms are fine, some a bit smaller than others, nice ambience, bar and restaurant just off reception. All in all if the price suits your budget, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#33 of 161 in Melbourne
3,957 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
2,514 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pan Pacific Melbourne
#21 of 161 in Melbourne
3,734 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $178 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, IHG, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing