We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The location is absolutely great. A 2 minutes walk will get you to a good choice of restaurants on the Yarra river side. The rooms are nicely furnished and equipped. The gym is a bit cramped and disappointing.

The staff at the reception can be a bit arrogant and unfriendly, though the concierge was very helpful, knowledgeable and customer oriented. Do not hesitate to ask him an advice.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club Platinum, you may not get an automatic upgrade even when there are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    619
    252
    67
    35
See reviews for
197
404
86
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Typical of a pricy hotel, perfect for business travel. 24 hour room service is good.

Room Tip: AC really works well, don't set it too low during the night :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THERKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The guys at concierge were the most helpful ever! The hotel has great views, rooms are a bit small but nice.

All in all it was a good choice and was perfectly situated to allow easy access to the tram for Rod Laver Arena, restaurants, shopping & entertainment. My only complaint is that housekeeping never left enough towels or bath supplies for 2 people. I'd still stay there again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexShelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel was a bit old, but very clean nonetheless. The beds were particularly comfortable, especially the duvet! I loved the fact that there was a hairdryer ready out on the counter for me, however, some might not appreciate that as it wasn't a very neat way to lay out a hairdryer.

Service-wise, my first impression wasn't very good because the man serving me at the counter wasn't as friendly as I'd like. Apart from that incident, the rest of the staff were very helpful and amiable.

I loved the location. I had a lovely view of the Yarra River and there was a tramstop right outside the hotel that could take me straight into the city and even Brunswick Street without having to jump off for transfers.

Overall, it was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audreyjfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband, 2 children and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid January and loved the place. The location cannot be beat and the views are wonderful. We only had a 1st floor room but even the views from there were great. We were able to walk to all of the nearby attractions as well as only a few blocks and you are in the main shopping mall of Melbourne. We had a room with 2 double beds and it was modern and clean and spacious. We loved walking along Southbank trying to choose somewhere to eat - the choices were endless.

At 4pm each day happy hour starts in the downstairs lounge/bar so while my son and husband rested in our room, my daughter and i headed down there each day with our books for a quiet rest and a champagne for me and a soft drink for her. It was very relaxing and wonderful for a bit of people watching. We also had a quick bite to eat in here one evening and the food was lovely, a bit pricey but it was so tasty we soon forgot about the price. I saw a lady on the next table have the turkey burger and with the bowl of chips and side salad that was included for $19.95 this was a meal easily shared by two, it was enormous.

I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_ShuttergirlfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $175 - $409
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing