We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central hotel on the River” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good central hotel on the River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of the Australian open. Great position, close to trams and trains, the Casino complex, DFO and the central city. Had booked a suite on the top floor, but when we got to the room it was on the back of the hotel with no view and the room was quite small. We requested another room on the river side and were moved to a lovely room with views up the river towards the city. Rooms very clean. The staff were exemplary in their service. The restaurant, bar and room service food was very good.

Negatives are the couch was very uncomfortable and low, and the bathroom is very outdated with a shower with not much water pressure over a very narrow bath with a plastic shower curtain!!! Also the bed could do with replacing - although firm, it was on a definite uneven lean from one side to the other.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    619
    252
    67
    35
See reviews for
197
404
86
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed on the 9th floor (the quiet floor) and our room had a fantastic view of the city and the Yarra. The breakfast buffet was great. Parking is at a parking station down the road from the hotel so be ready to drop your gear at the hotel and walk back to the hotel if you are driving. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The Crowne is a comfortable hotel in a great location.Public transport is right on the doorstep, and the casino and huge range of restaurants are literally 2 minutes away. The rooms are clean and well designed with everything you would expect in this standard of hotel. The only negative perhaps is that the bathroom is quite small, and probably beginning to become a little dated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel while on business for a couple of days at the same time the Australian Open was on.

Great service from all staff that I encounted, helpful and everything was done with a smile.

I ordered room service once night, best room service food I've ever eaten, my steak was cooked to perfection.

Rooms are spacious, a little on the old side but very clea.

The location is great, I had a beautiful river view from my room and was able to pop downstairs and across the road to eat and drink at the many riverside bars that Melbourne has to offer.

Would stay there again. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittlePrincessNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

As a physical hotel, the Crowne Plaza is a modern facility directly across the river from the Crown casino complex and convention center. Just for physical location, amenities, design, and room layout it would rate highly.

The difference with the Crowne Plaza Melbourne, and what gets it an excellent rating, is its staff. Universally, from the concierge to the waiters to the front desk personnel, you get professional and knowledgable personnel willing and able to provide you with whatever assistance you need whenever you need it.

One person in particular, Holly Wilkins at the front desk, deserves particular kudos. Upon our arrival during our check-in Ms. Wilkins asked us how we were enjoying our stay so far. As part of our response, we mentioned that we were there for our anniversary and prior to my starting a new job. Shortly after arriving at our room, we were not only delivered a bottle of complimentary champagne but were also handed a personal note from Ms. Wilkins congratulating us on our anniversary and new job along with the best wishes of the Crowne Plaza. Now THAT, folks, is what makes a hotel stand out from the pack.

From the Crowne Plaza it's very easy to get around Melbourne. You, of course, can walk along the river and have easy access to the casino, shops, and restaurants in that huge complex. You are also only a block away from the trolley/tram system from which you can reach virtually any spot in Melbourne. The Circle Line trolley (#35) is free, but we'd recommend that you purchase a daily or weekly ticket from the train station so that you can hop on and off of any of the trolleys and trams wherever and whenever you choose.

Room Tip: You can get a view of the water, convention center and casino from the top floors for a very reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avy8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHG_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear avy8r,

Many thanks for your review on TripAdvisor after your stay at Crowne Plaza Melbourne earlier this month.

We are really pleased that you were so delighted with our hotel, and that you had the opportunity to discover our wonderful city.

Your comments about our team members and indeed Holly, are much appreciated and they will certainly be passed on. It is always lovely to receive such personlised feedback about our people.

Thanks again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne!

Regards,

Crowne Plaza Melbourne Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Melbourne

Property: Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Address: 1 - 5 Spencer St, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $175 - $411
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Yarra River, in the heart of the Southbank precinct Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a located adjacent to Melbourne Convention Exhibition Center and a relaxed stroll from Southgate arts and dining promenade, the city center, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium and shopping hot spots. Crowne Plaza Melbourne is a 5-minute walk from Southern Cross railway station and a 2-minute stroll to the tramways for swift travel across town. Taxis or our car service take 30 minutes from Melbourne Airport, while our convenient valet service makes parking a breeze. Providing support for the corporate traveler our business centre provides complimentary use of PCs, Internet and stationary supplies. Whether it’s over a succulent steak at Clarendon Street Grill, a classic cocktail in the Lobby Bar or an informal meeting in the Corporate Lounge, Crowne Plaza Melbourne really is The Place To Meet with friends, family, colleagues and clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing