We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Flyer51895508664

Experience the docklands and south bank at this hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 June 2024
The rooms are great and especially the staff are very courteous and helpful.
The view outside my room on 17th floor was breathtaking where you can see the yaara river and the crown casino. DFO is walking distance and also you can explore the south bank side of the city. Though there are less restaurants around and have to go to the CBD area for meals. The train station is walkable. The Docklands is walkable where you can take a ferry too.
The most attractive thing in the hotel is the rooftop bar with an amazing city view at night.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Dumbrell , Guest Services / Front Office at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this review
Responded 17 June 2024
Good afternoon Flyer51895508664,

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time at Oakwood Premier Melbourne.

It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed exploring the Docklands and Southbank areas, as well as the breathtaking views from your room on the 17th floor. We're glad our staff provided courteous and helpful service to enhance your stay.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant options nearby and will certainly take this into consideration as we aim to improve our guests' experience. However, we're delighted to hear that you found the train station and Docklands within walking distance, and enjoyed the convenience of exploring the city.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed our rooftop bar with its amazing city views at night. It's always a highlight for our guests!

Thank you once again for choosing Oakwood Premier Melbourne. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay.

Kind regards

Karl Dumbrell
Rooms Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$269
  • travelup.com
    AU$265
  • Trip.com
    AU$269
1.0 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$215
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
  • Hotels.com
    AU$225
  • Hotel Website
    AU$225
2.6 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Pool
Batmans Hill Exterior Night Web
AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$258
  • Vio.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
    AU$259
1.1 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
  • travelup.com
    AU$142
  • Hotel Website
    AU$144
2.2 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Pool
Bar/Lounge
AU$136
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$166
  • Hotels.com
    AU$166
  • StayForLong
    AU$136
1.6 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Pool
Fitness centre
Guests staying in suites can make use of our exclusive club lounge, which provides a range of services such as private check-in, use of the meeting space, and a curated menu. For health and wellness, Vitality merges our beautiful heated indoor pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Technogym and wellness room together, taking care of mind, body and soul.
AU$239
  • Hotel Website
    AU$194
  • Vio.com
    AU$156
  • Expedia.com
    AU$194
1.6 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Pool
Space Deck
AU$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
  • StayForLong
    AU$106
2.7 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Fitness centre
AU$113
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Agoda.com
    AU$97
  • Expedia.com
    AU$113
1.0 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Restaurant
AU$260
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$247
  • Vio.com
    AU$206
  • Hotels.com
    AU$248
2.7 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Corner Room
AU$161
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
3.3 km from Oakwood Premier Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Melbourne
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
41
18
12
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
18
12
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room lobby bar working area to order room service fresh towels breakfast restaurant one bedroom apartment exhibition centre serviced apartment housekeeping staff washer dryer albert park a wonderful stay the ground floor minute walk perfect location freeway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2024

A hotel which is well priced and very conveniently located. A walk through the DFO and you are in the heart of Melbourne CBD, Public transport on the 109 trams which goes through the city is also relatively close but I chose to walk to Spencer street station which is about a 12 minute walk.
The studio rooms are large and the price was excellent which is what prompted my choice to stay here again. breakfast was included and very good. The breakfast restaurant staff were very good as were reception staff.
Housekeeping seemed off the mark or this would have been a straight 5 star rating but all up, it's a very good choice if you want a 5 star room and stay at a reasonable price.

Room tip: High floors, the 03 suites are probably best for quiet stays.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Dumbrell , Guest Services / Front Office at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2024

Good morning LukeG_11,

Thank you for your detailed and positive feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oakwood Premier Melbourne and found it to be a great value for the price.

We're glad you appreciated our convenient location, spacious studio rooms, and excellent breakfast. It's also wonderful to hear that our breakfast restaurant and reception staff made a good impression.

We apologize for any shortcomings in housekeeping and appreciate your understanding. Your feedback helps us to improve, and we will address this with our team to ensure a consistently high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay.

Kind regards

Karl Dumbrell
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2024

Our second stay at the Oakwood. It's still a beautiful hotel with tastefully appointed suites however there were some areas that had dropped in standard.

* Hotel is modern and located within walking distance of all main CBD sites-MCG, Crown, etc. Catch the 109 tram to go straight to the city.
* On reception, we were sent to the wrong room twice. This was more amusing then annoying but would be an issue if it was late at night, we were elderly on in a hurry as we had to come all the way down again twice, and it was strange that staff seemed confused.
* It seemed like there were less staff on the ground then our last stay and they could be more proactive in being friendly and helpful. Food was left in the floor walkways for the whole day and there was a lack of acknowledgement from most staff which is disappointing when paying an average of $350 per night.
* The suites remain beautiful and superbly appointed. This would definitely be a great place to stay for a longer trip.
* A fire alarm on our last day was handled poorly by the out of uniform security manager. Paying guests should be treated politely when concerned about what is happening a few doors down, rather than being told to go back into their room like naughty school kids.
* Hotel Breakfast buffet was sparse and quite average.

Overall, I would still stay here in the future but may investigate other options close by.

Room tip: The tram 109 nearby runs straight to many CBD main stops like Flinders St
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrP78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Dumbrell , Guest Services / Front Office at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2024

Good afternoon MrP78_11,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again at the Oakwood and for sharing your detailed feedback. We're delighted to hear that you still find our hotel beautiful and appreciate the tastefully appointed suites and our convenient location.

However, we regret to learn that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual high standards:

- We apologize for the confusion at reception that led to you being sent to the wrong room twice. We understand how this could be inconvenient and will ensure our front desk team is better trained to prevent such issues.
- Your observation about fewer staff and the need for more proactive, friendly service is noted. We will work on improving staff presence and attentiveness to ensure a better guest experience.
- The cleanliness issues you mentioned, with food left in walkways, are concerning. We will address this with our housekeeping team to maintain a high standard of cleanliness.
- We regret that the handling of the fire alarm was not up to standard. Our security team will be reminded to manage such situations with more professionalism and respect for our guests.
- We're sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations. We are continuously looking for ways to enhance our offerings and will take your feedback into account.

We appreciate your constructive comments and are committed to making improvements. While we hope to welcome you back for another stay, we understand you may explore other options. Thank you for your feedback, which is invaluable in helping us enhance our services.


Kind regards

Karl Dumbrell
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

Location is great. Rooms are good and quite new / well maintained. Cleanliness is decent. However, my room was lacking the in-room console to indicate “do not disturb” or “please makeup my room” as all other 5-star hotels would have. I had to go down to the front-desk manually to request for towel / linen / full housekeeping, daily. No consolation or apologies were offered for this.

Much to be improved -

1. Front desk staff really need to be trained better. Many requests were not followed through on. 2/4 of the days when I went down to request for housekeeping of my room were not done. Either the front desk person totally forgot my request or indicated the wrong room. We also had to remind them about the deposit and the first time, they did not correctly take down our card details so we had to come down to do it again. There is also only ever 1 front desk person on duty at night and when I checked in at 10pm one night I asked the front desk person on duty for some clarification to which they replied “please wait until tomorrow morning, I’m busy now as I’m the only one on duty tonight”. Really unprofessional and I was taken aback. It is not the guest’s problem if the property is unable to roster staff properly - especially for a 5-star property.

2. There is no bellman to help with bags. This is supposed to be a 5-star property…

3. Breakfast spread is very underwhelming. Breakfast tables are always dirty and staff don’t clear up well. The omelette station is terrible. They need to hire a better chef, the omelettes look horrible and the fried eggs are a disaster.

4. Look into service elevators. I’ve never been at a 5-star property where it takes forever to get anywhere because chefs come in with full carts of raw produce, followed by housekeeping carts, cleaners, room-service deliveries etc. All 5-star properties I’ve had experienced with “hide” all of the back-end logistics to protect the guest experience. The elevators are so slow as well.

It was not a terrible stay overall but definitely questionable as a “5-star” property.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Espi6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathias Waas, General Manager at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Espi6789,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor with us regarding your recent stay.

We sincerely apologize for the aspects of your experience that did not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken seriously, and we will take action to address the areas and improve wherever possible.

First and foremost, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the lack of an in-room console for indicating your housekeeping preferences. Each room has a screen next to the door in which you can indeed call for room cleaning or switch on DND. Unfortunately, due to challenges in design and construction of the hotel, your room type on each level is no screen.

We also apologize for the lapses in service you encountered, particularly with the front desk staff. It is unacceptable that your requests were not followed through on and that you experienced unprofessional behavior from our team members. We will immediately address these issues through additional training and reinforcement of our service standards to ensure that all guests receive the attention and assistance they deserve.

Regarding your feedback on breakfast, cleanliness, and elevator service, we apologize for falling short of your expectations in these areas. We will work closely with our culinary team to enhance the breakfast offerings and improve the cleanliness of the dining area. Additionally, we will review our elevator logistics to minimize wait times and disruptions for our guests.

Thank you once again for bringing these matters to our attention. We genuinely appreciate your feedback as it allows us to identify areas for improvement and enhance the overall guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more seamless and enjoyable stay.

Thank you and best personal regards
Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

Oakwood was such a better experience. The rooms are nicer, larger and offer a lot more. The bar downstairs is premium with a good atmosphere. Great location and view with easy access from the freeway
I recommend this hotel , has great views and great food

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank samir-been
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mathias Waas, General Manager at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Dear Samir-been,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us.

Your satisfaction of your stay is greatly appreciated, and we will continue to strive for excellence in all areas of our service. Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to assist you or if you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Thank you and best personal regards
Mathias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

Beautiful new complex. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND WORTH STAYING HERE. Very clean & spacious room. The lovely man on checkin upgraded us to 30th floor. Room had a lovely view. Fully self contained if you wanted. Had everything microwave, large fridge, stove top & hidden dishwasher. We were only staying overnight from peninsula for a work function.

Room tip: No parking. Park across the road in parking lot
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rickt2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karl Dumbrell , Guest Services / Front Office at Oakwood Premier Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Good afternoon Rickt2311,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and enthusiastic recommendation of Oakwood Premier Melbourne!

We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found our complex beautiful and inviting. It's fantastic to know that you found your room clean, spacious, and well-equipped with all the amenities you needed, including the stunning view from the 30th floor.

We're thrilled that our team member was able to enhance your experience by upgrading your room upon check-in. Providing exceptional service and ensuring our guests feel valued is always our top priority.

It was a pleasure to accommodate you during your overnight stay for the work function, and we hope you had a successful event.

Once again, thank you for choosing Oakwood Premier Melbourne, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another memorable stay. Should you require any assistance or have any special requests for your next visit, please feel free to contact us.

Kind regards

Karl Dumbrell
Rooms Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews