We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro
Ranked #108 of 4,656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro is where you will experience true French Hospitality. When the French back home gets together with friends and family to prepare a meal, when all the chopping, mixing and baking and cooking is done! the cook call out "A La Bouffe" Let's Eat, and everyone sits down to enjoy their home cooked meal. That is what you will experience at A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro - an informal, friendly and delicious experience. No pretensions, just good friendly service and delicious food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was taken to this restaurant for a business dinner. The entree of twice-baked cheese souffle was nice, and the dessert was sensational, however...
I chose the Porterhouse steak with green peppercorn sauce. I requested Medium/Medium rare - it was like eating shoe leather!! The steak was very well-done and was like chewing cardboard - I ate the salad and fries and part of the steak so as not to be rude to my host. For the same reason I didn't say anything at the time so as not to cause a fuss in front of my host - her steak was the same and she was very disappointed also.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LLou1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Truly beautiful
When you arrive, relax & feel the Francois; you truly have found French cuisine.

The service, impeccable.

The food, art plated, tasting simply sublime.

This one is a must do; go & find your Francois!

Enjoy, & bom appetite

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank michaelmS2233JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food and service very good. Oysters, Lobster Ravioli and Crepe Suzette were absolutely delish. Hubby had the French Onion Soup for starters and said the one i make at home was better. But his steak was beautiful.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Lancartea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

An absolute gem . Great food excellent service and a good ambience .definitely the place for French ....leaves some of the others for dead

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Excellent experience in all respects. Authentic french food with menu extending into all things duck, rabbit, etc and extensive wine list of high quality. This was topped up with outstanding service from the waitress and there are excellent acoustics.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank burra154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing