We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding French”

A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro
Ranked #108 of 4,657 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro is where you will experience true French Hospitality. When the French back home gets together with friends and family to prepare a meal, when all the chopping, mixing and baking and cooking is done! the cook call out "A La Bouffe" Let's Eat, and everyone sits down to enjoy their home cooked meal. That is what you will experience at A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro - an informal, friendly and delicious experience. No pretensions, just good friendly service and delicious food.
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Excellent experience in all respects. Authentic french food with menu extending into all things duck, rabbit, etc and extensive wine list of high quality. This was topped up with outstanding service from the waitress and there are excellent acoustics.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank burra154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018

My wife and I had a great experience. The staff were wonderful and the food amazing.Will definately be back .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

A little hidden gem... Had been driving past for quite a while..... Finally some friends had randomly made a booking and we went (4 people). The ambience, the service and the Food could not be faulted! We came on a relatively busy Saturday night... This is not impose of the quality of the food or the speed of service..... A big fan of Duck... Crème Brule and just all things tasty - I would highly recommend this placed to anyone looking for genuine French Cuisine.... Most certainly will be back! Also remember to try the home made Pate - simply wonderful!

Date of visit: June 2018
7  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky F, Owner at A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you Dear Martin for the positive feedback, it is a delight to have customers like yourself in the restaurant. We hope to see you back soon. Merci beaucoup!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We recently visited Melbourne and were looking forward to visiting an authentic style French Restaurant. We were so glad that we went to La Bouffe Bar & Bistro, it was a sensational night of food and service. I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for something quant with ambience and atmosphere and GREAT food! Highly recommend a visit!

Date of visit: June 2018
9  Thank TeamWalters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacky F, Owner at A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your A La Bouffe experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. A bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

The atmosphere was friendly and service was excellent. The food wasn't spectacular. The mussels were quite bland, the salmon was lovely. I was very disappointed with the serving sizes. Especially the dessert chef selection.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ericsE719MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to A La Bouffe Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing