We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites when in Melbourne”
Review of Merchant

Merchant
Ranked #200 of 5,203 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's been a while since I visited this restaurant and it really hasn't changed. Next door to the Intercontinental, easy, relaxed and friendly.

The food was once again brilliant - from the bread to the dips, the squid risotto was fantastic and then topped off with tiramisu.

To my surprise, I was not aware that they were open for breakfast as well.

Thank you and we will see you soon..

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The menu it's simple and the food is great. Feels like I'm eating with a family in Italy at their home. Simple flavours but blended and presented expertly.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mikelD6842BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018 via mobile

My friend and colleague suggested this restaurant whilst I’m in town on business. He knows the Head Chef so we were lucky enough to get his selection. Ahhhhhmazing. Cuttlefish, bugs, prosciutto, tortellini, steak (with fabulous roasters) and tiramisu. Served by a friendly and knowledgeable waiter. Couldn’t have asked for more!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kate14478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile


Yet another fabulous meal with professional, friendly service at our favourite Italian restaurant . Have had the pleasure of dining at Merchant several times now, both with friends and as a couple, and have yet to be disappointed. Can't fault the service or food, and the portion sizes and value for money is
exceptional. The char grilled dish is sublime & the tiramisu the best we've ever tasted!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TravelTwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Friday night, and after finding someone to ask about a table were directed to one. Getting someone to order drinks or food was difficult. The odd part was it appeared that a staff member had their family next to us, and their service was immediate and prompt.

After a long wait for a drink we left to find another restaurant, it’s a real shame as normally Guy Grossi is a sure fire bet, but we will keep going to Ombra, where the service and staff are good.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank SNOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merchant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing