We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”
Review of Merchant

Merchant
Ranked #206 of 4,656 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Four of us popped in for a dinner on Friday night – no booking but we were immediately ushered to a table – restaurant was half-empty.

We sat in a booth, surrounded by graffitied-walls – a bit claustrophic and I felt like I was dining with the homeless @ Flinders St Station – I’m sure some people would like this décor, but not my style. The rest of the restaurant was quite tasteful with a lovely Italian theme.

The Maitre D’ immediately took our drinks order (good start), then it descended into an scene from Faulty Towers.

We sat for almost 15 minutes waiting for a menu – I began to wonder if it was just a bar, not a restaurant. My husband got up and grabbed menus from the bar and asked the Maitre D if it was OK for him to take them? The Maitre D’ then clapped his hands loudly above his head and an Italian waiter scuttled over to take our drink order (again). He said he’d check on the drinks (which he didn’t). Then snatched our drinks menu and scuttled off again (making it difficult to order a bottle of wine).

Another 10 minutes later with no waiter in sight, we asked ‘how are those drinks going?’ to the Maitre D at the bar. Meanwhile trying to read the faded menus in the dark.

Given the shabby service, we started to doubt how long it would take to order/get our meals. We decided to drink up (when we finally got the drinks) then paid up and left. Can’t comment on the food as we didn’t want to take the risk.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Service
2  Thank aussieshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018

A business lunch gave opportunity to sample this convenient and popular restaurant. We are risottos; they were excellent, succulent and well flavoured, one based around scallops and lemon, the other around mushrooms. Service was good and our outdoor table was great for people watching and catching up with friends.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Had a meal here whilst staying in the hotel, nothing to rush back to, quality of food for the price in my opinion was very underwhelming. Ordered Prawns at $38.00 and got 3 Prawns full stop.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Macca1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This restaurant has an awesome menu and is worth visiting. Well laid out and is convenient if you are staying at the Intercontinental Rialto.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank BlueAnto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Been to this restaurant a few times, and time and time again the service is impeccable, food consistent, and filling.

Went here with my family, just the three of us, as we were staying in town decided to go a bottle of wine for the night, we selected a wine, and the waiter was knowledgeable to cater to our tastes before we purchased a bottle.

Food was delicious, and the staff were happy to accomodate to our lil one's tastes with a simple pasta dish..

Ordered a selection of foods, and every bite was delightful.

We somehow managed to squeeze in some dessert and it was definitely the cream on top.. :D

We look forward to dining here again soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Constant_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merchant also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing