We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding house and host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 169 Drummond Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
169 Drummond Street
Ranked #1 of 16 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
1 review
“Outstanding house and host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My partner and I spend 2 days and wish we had planned more time. The B&B is outstanding - clean, friendly and newly renovated. Location could not have been better and Ian is an outstanding host. He made us feel very welcome and was helpful in planning our time. Melbourne turned out to be a great city and we hope to head back there and get to know it better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
56
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Ian is a great host, most welcoming and helpful. The house is located well, between the bohemia of Collingwood, gastronomy of Carlton and the hustle and bustle of the City. As tourists we found this B&B perfectly situated, relaxed and informal. You can help yourself to Breakfast which makes it feel more homely in my opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper room which was perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFoxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Location couldn't have been better. Lots of great cafes, restaurants, and bars in the neighborhood, and very easy to get to the city center on foot or on the tram. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast options were self-serve and easy. Ian was great at providing local recommendations, and also fun to talk with. Daisy is a doll! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The front room upstairs has a very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terryroberts47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hard to say anything negative about innkeeper Ian and his BnB. Mostly a gay clientele, but not narrow. The rooms are superb, the availability of breakfast, candy and cookies, but always available good coffee, make the place even nicer. It's a Melbourne terrace house--rowhouse or townhouse to North Americans--in Carlton, which is close in, about 20 minutes walk to the CBD. It's also seven minutes from the city's tour bus, and seven minutes from a major tram stop which gives you access to the whole city. Ian has lots of information and is great fun to talk with.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We would like to thank you for welcoming us in your wonderful romantic victorian house. You are located in a very nice Italian neighbourhood, and with lots of nice Italian restaurants, bars and tea-rooms ! Great to enjoy, and also not so far from the city center. Even with a free BUS ! We will stay with you again next time we are in Melbourne !!

Room Tip: king size room at the frontside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 169 Drummond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 169 Drummond Street

Property: 169 Drummond Street
Address: 169 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Also Known As:
169 Drummond Street Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing