We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding house and host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
169 Drummond Street
Ranked #1 of 24 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My partner and I spend 2 days and wish we had planned more time. The B&B is outstanding - clean, friendly and newly renovated. Location could not have been better and Ian is an outstanding host. He made us feel very welcome and was helpful in planning our time. Melbourne turned out to be a great city and we hope to head back there and get to know it better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Ian is a great host, most welcoming and helpful. The house is located well, between the bohemia of Collingwood, gastronomy of Carlton and the hustle and bustle of the City. As tourists we found this B&B perfectly situated, relaxed and informal. You can help yourself to Breakfast which makes it feel more homely in my opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheaper room which was perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFoxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Location couldn't have been better. Lots of great cafes, restaurants, and bars in the neighborhood, and very easy to get to the city center on foot or on the tram. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast options were self-serve and easy. Ian was great at providing local recommendations, and also fun to talk with. Daisy is a doll! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The front room upstairs has a very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terryroberts47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hard to say anything negative about innkeeper Ian and his BnB. Mostly a gay clientele, but not narrow. The rooms are superb, the availability of breakfast, candy and cookies, but always available good coffee, make the place even nicer. It's a Melbourne terrace house--rowhouse or townhouse to North Americans--in Carlton, which is close in, about 20 minutes walk to the CBD. It's also seven minutes from the city's tour bus, and seven minutes from a major tram stop which gives you access to the whole city. Ian has lots of information and is great fun to talk with.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We would like to thank you for welcoming us in your wonderful romantic victorian house. You are located in a very nice Italian neighbourhood, and with lots of nice Italian restaurants, bars and tea-rooms ! Great to enjoy, and also not so far from the city center. Even with a free BUS ! We will stay with you again next time we are in Melbourne !!

Room Tip: king size room at the frontside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BennyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Coppersmith Hotel
#2 of 24 in Melbourne
78 reviews
Central Business District
Nomads Melbourne
Nomads Melbourne
#13 of 24 in Melbourne
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 169 Drummond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 169 Drummond Street

Address: 169 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Also Known As:
169 Drummond Street Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing