We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid… food and service to avoid”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #14 of 366 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 21 October 2023

Horrendous food… tony portions… rude service. So expensive for what was presented… a place to be avoided.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colmer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2023 via mobile

Great service, good value, very efficient. Had a great experience tonight at hunky dory much due to the service and recommendations of Phoenix on the front counter. Great value and in and out with a fresh salad and good piece of shark.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank RogerAliSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

Yuk. Bass given …..
No choice
Not on menu but it’s a given
Not Australian
Won’t return
One expects Australian fish with so many choices

Date of visit: January 2023
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2022

Fabulous grilled fish and seafood, served with salad and sweet potatoe fries. Food and alchol very reasonably priced. Lovely staff. Tables available outside or inside. Across from the Olsen Hotel, next to the Woolworths/Big W complex.

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank critic771
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2021

Don’t bother! rude service, no will to take responsibility for mistake and not willing to compensate.

I received my food cold wet and squished due to putting 4 drink I didn’t order on the fish and chips, 4 drink I dont even like to they were no use to me. The fish I got was probably worth $2 yet I paid $6, I feel ripped off, lied too and overall very disappointed in hunky dory. will not go back

Date of visit: December 2021
2  Thank 1cameronp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.