We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“health and affordable”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #14 of 366 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Nice food for a fast food place. Health options and affordable prices. I really recommend this place if you are visiting Melbourne or around Chapel Street

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Erick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 105 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

The place was packed on a Wednesday night so I opted for takeaway. I ordered the Japanese grilled fish on brown rice with a side salad.
The miso marinade was tasty and the serve was generous. I bought a bottle of house sav which complimented the meal well.

The staff were fast and friendly and seemed to have great control in the busy conditions.

I will be back to try something else from the extensive menu!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank emhe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2016

In my humble this place has the best chips I've had in Melbourne. They're as close to chip heaven as I can imagine! I've only ever had takeaway so can't comment on the restaurant itself but the service is always pretty quick and the food is cheap.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank travelsunderandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Probably not the best fish and chips in Melbourne but great place to visit on a sunny day and sit outside.
Huge variety of options but beware, they're a little on the small side!
Don't forget to soak your chips in vinegar! It makes them healthy ;)

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Cat_and_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2016

The food was just wonderful. The service was excellent. The fish just melted in your mouth and the chips weren't bad either.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 477kathleeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.