We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chips on the fly”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #14 of 370 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Probably not the best fish and chips in Melbourne but great place to visit on a sunny day and sit outside.
Huge variety of options but beware, they're a little on the small side!
Don't forget to soak your chips in vinegar! It makes them healthy ;)

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Cat_and_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2016

The food was just wonderful. The service was excellent. The fish just melted in your mouth and the chips weren't bad either.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank 477kathleeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Best Fish and chip ever!
All deep fries food taste are very fresh, yummy crispy, perfect fries!
Nice service staff, the potato cake is so good.
I also ordered grilled around the world pack (2 grilled john dory, but I changed one to be salmon, selected salad, rice or fries, and selection of sauce on top the fishes)
I chose Oriental sauce with rice, taste is amazing, fishes are so fresh, but rice a bit dry (it's brown rice, cant complain coz brown rice cooked always get dry, it's normal!)

In general, good to visit both lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank justbemyselfpeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Always flat out this place has a varied menu and the food is fresh. Eat there at the outdoor tables (if you can squeeze in) or take away. It's well know and very popular. We picked up our food and took it across the road to eat on the balcony of the place we were staying. With a glass of wine it was a great meal. Cheap but fresh and tasty. No wonder it is so busy.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Clare013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this place to anyone.

Staff are very friendly adlnd always helpful.

Food is absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 495kens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.