We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood, Good taste, Fast&Nice service”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #16 of 368 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Best Fish and chip ever!
All deep fries food taste are very fresh, yummy crispy, perfect fries!
Nice service staff, the potato cake is so good.
I also ordered grilled around the world pack (2 grilled john dory, but I changed one to be salmon, selected salad, rice or fries, and selection of sauce on top the fishes)
I chose Oriental sauce with rice, taste is amazing, fishes are so fresh, but rice a bit dry (it's brown rice, cant complain coz brown rice cooked always get dry, it's normal!)

In general, good to visit both lunch and dinner.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank justbemyselfpeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2016

Always flat out this place has a varied menu and the food is fresh. Eat there at the outdoor tables (if you can squeeze in) or take away. It's well know and very popular. We picked up our food and took it across the road to eat on the balcony of the place we were staying. With a glass of wine it was a great meal. Cheap but fresh and tasty. No wonder it is so busy.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Clare013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I would recommend this place to anyone.

Staff are very friendly adlnd always helpful.

Food is absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 495kens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

What a super little fish and chip shop. Excellent menu with lots of options. Fresh and beautifully cooked seafood and tasty and healthy salads, all at a very reasonable price. I had the grilled seafood with a Greek salad and my darling had a grilled whiting and some calamari. All delicious! (a few bones in the whiting though so probably wouldn't chose that next time). For a tasty, healthy and low priced meal and friendly staff to boot, you can't go wrong.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 850thaliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner on our first night in Melbourne. This restaurant has redefined our standards for fish and chips. The food was incredibly fresh and the portions were large. We shared one dish between 2 people and found that this was plenty. We recommend the marinated calamari with chips and salad.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank LeahWhaiHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.