We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Calamari & Chips”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #14 of 366 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner on our first night in Melbourne. This restaurant has redefined our standards for fish and chips. The food was incredibly fresh and the portions were large. We shared one dish between 2 people and found that this was plenty. We recommend the marinated calamari with chips and salad.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank LeahWhaiHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Just a 20 minute walk from. The last free tram station on spencer street this little restaurant is a beauty. The portion size is huge and the quality is good. Had the marinated squid with salad and chips for 17 dollars. It managed to fill me and my partner. Recommended for those on a budget.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank sherrickreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Serves fresh fish and seafood, with salads, not just chips!! Located at the new building along Chapel St, This is a newer addition to the original one in Port Melbourne. I still prefer the original in Port Melbourne and South Melbourne for the street ambiance.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank 371meiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Love Hunky Dory's at South Yarra, always a good vibe going on in there, cool tunes!
Food is consistently delicious and they have plenty of healthy options as well as traditional fish and chips.
I personally love the Bay Pack or grilled fish with quinoa salad. YUM!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2016

A great menu and very reasonably priced. The super salads and rice options allow for a really healthy meal out.

Can get very busy but service and speed doesn't seem to suffer.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miniminton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.