We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and good for you”
Review of Hunky Dory

Hunky Dory
Ranked #14 of 366 Quick Bites in Melbourne
Price range: AU$6 - AU$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Chapel Street
Description: Offering healthy seafood options along with traditional fish and chips.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Love Hunky Dory's at South Yarra, always a good vibe going on in there, cool tunes!
Food is consistently delicious and they have plenty of healthy options as well as traditional fish and chips.
I personally love the Bay Pack or grilled fish with quinoa salad. YUM!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2016

A great menu and very reasonably priced. The super salads and rice options allow for a really healthy meal out.

Can get very busy but service and speed doesn't seem to suffer.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank miniminton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2016

So much more than another fish and chip shop. This is the way fish should be cooked and served. The extensive menu allowed us to 'build' a meal according to our taste which made for much easier ordering. Fried or grilled; choice of flavours; selection of salads; chips or rice; burgers and wraps also offered. My grilled marinated calamari was the best I've eaten outside of Greece. Worth moving to Melbourne for!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carol o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Went here for tea last weekend. VERY tasty fish and chips. Nicely presented in printed bags and boxes. Well done will be back.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAT2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. My grilled fish tastes wonderful and was cooked to perfection. Chips and fish were both seasoned generously and the tartare sauce was served in a cute seashell.

Modern and spacious, but the music could do with a bit of a turndown.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank alice320
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hunky Dory also viewed

 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hunky Dory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.