We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great on a budget...However...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Home at The Mansion
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great on a budget...However...”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I thought this was a great place full of friendly staff and in a great location. I was in a private room initially then in a 4 bedded mixed dorm. Toilet and shower facilities were great and the kitchen and fridge space was ample. I didn't welcome the bed bug bites though from sleeping in the mixed dorm which put a huge dampener on my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    49
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
16
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at Home @ the Mansion in May 2011. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm - spacious, enough space for luggage sprawling. The bedding they gave was a duvet cover, pillow cover, and sheet - I particularly liked the duvet cover and knowing they didn't reuse blankets!
It seemed when we were there, there were a lot of long-term live-in's at this hostel - not many staying for a few nights like us. Everyone seemed to have their own group of friends created because they were long-term.
It also seemed that because everyone was long -term, they worked, so the hostel became really quiet at like 11pm!! Great for sleeping, not so great for partying.

The kitchen was small, but you have access to dishes without deposit. I found the kitchen table space to be not enough.

If you have 20kg of luggage - maybe the 3rd floor isnt the best idea! We lugged our luggage up the stairs, which was quite the work out with that big stairwell!
We really liked the outside, there was a bbq for anyone to use and a little courtyard. They also had a taco night when we were there with free tacos for everyone.
There were not many computers (I think 4?) - but they were always available when we went to use them!
The showers/bathrooms on the second floor were a huge perk t this hostel. Your own personal shower room! amazing!
I would stay here again, but I would hope for a more social group of backpackers to be staying at the same time!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineinCanada519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

A former Salvation Army training college, Home @ the Mansion offers a great touch of characters in their building. There are some corners beside the staircase where they turned it into a common area for TV and Sony Play Station. We stayed in a 4-bed room dorm and pleasantly surprised to see a locker in our room, a heater and a television. The staffs are really friendly, they greet us every time we walked pass the reception area and we met some nice people during our stay. It's a few steps away from the city circle tram. The Mansion is within the walking distance to Royal Exhibition Building, Melbourne Museum, State Parliament House, St Patrick's Cathedral etc.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 1st floor with unisex toilets but I would sneak in the toilet on 2nd floor which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I had a torn ankle ligament before my trip so I was hobbling around on a crutch. When I walked in and the guy at the front desk saw me he moved me to a room on the first floor at no extra charge even though I booked the 12 bed dorm on the top floor! So so so nice! The place is really conveniently located, very close to the free city circle tram and the building itself is really cool. I absolutely loved staying here and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I only initially booked for 3 nights at this hostel but after staying here me and my travel buddy wanted to stay longer, sadly due to high level of bookings we had to stay elsewhere until we there was availability. I'm pleased this happened as it gave me a chance to stay at a cheaper but a much worse hostel and made me appreciate this hostel much more!! Hostel is really friendly with helpful staff, good kitchen and communal areas. Bathrooms (particularly on the 3rd floor) are very spacious and have never needed to wait for a shower (unlike other hostels I've stayed in) at whatever time of the day. Hostel is full of character and the themed nights are a bonus. Lockers were installed during my stay which has improved the security of the building and guests belongings. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone looking to stay in Melbourne and in need of a value-for-money hostel!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayzelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 134 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#104 of 134 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#30 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 134 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 134 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home at The Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home at The Mansion

Property: Home at The Mansion
Address: 80 Victoria Pde, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price range (per night): $27 - $77
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**NOW FREE WI-FI** Voted Most Popular Hostel in Melbourne - 2012, 2013, 2014 & nominated for Best Medium Size Hostel in the world! 'Located within a grand, heritage building, this is one of Melbourne's few hostels with genuine character” says the Lonely Planet. Situated right next to Brunswick St, the free city circle tram-line, Carlton Gardens and just minutes from China Town, Federation Square and the MCG you won't find a better spot! We pride ourselves on being Melbourne's friendliest hostel and with just 16 rooms and 94 beds we offer a more personal experience. If you are a lone traveller our brand new cafe bar Victoria's Secret is the perfect place to meet fellow travellers. This is not a normal hostel, this is The Mansion Here’s what we’ve got... -free Wi-Fi in all rooms and communal areas -free tea & coffee -amazing outdoor cafe/bar with happy hour at all times for guests -free sausage tuesdays -free wine and cheese Wednesdays -killer darts mondays (the world’s lowest standard of darts) -pristine bathrooms (mostly individual) cleaned 3 times a day! -alfresco themed communal kitchen & dining area all equipment provided! -playstation chill-out area with games -dvd area with over 100 dvds available -large sunny courtyard -guest laundry -free luggage storage -free book exchange -24 hour reception -jobs board for those looking for work most importantly…..the BEST staff in melbourne!!!!!! The rooms….. 16 spacious rooms, with high ceilings, stain glass windows and loads of natural light. We have 12, 7, 6, 5, 4 bed dorms and also 2 Double Private rooms. Each room features: • security lockers for every guest • flatscreen television • spotlessly cleaned twice daily • thick comfy mattresses with all linen provided • heaters and fans Please note that we strictly do not accept guests under the age of 18 unless agreed with hostel management in advance. All guests must provide photo ID upon check in. Management reserves the right to refuse entry upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Home at The Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home At The Mansion Melbourne, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing