We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable tour”
Review of MELTours

MELTours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 82.56*
and up
Melbourne Hidden Bar and Cocktail Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 88 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Stride into Melbourne’s blue stone laneways; whether its just yourself, couples, groups of friends and families, corporate groups or school students, we will show you all of Melbourne secrets and hidden gems! For such a young city, Melbourne has packed so much into such a short period to become one of the world’s great places to visit. Let us help you see, hear, taste and feel the best of what Melbourne has to offer in our great laneways, arcades, hidden bars and cafes.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An enjoyable tour”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Tour: History and Laneways East Tour
Date: Sat 11 Feb, 2012.
Guide: Jerome

Positives:
- Well-priced
- Friendly guide
- Some interesting historical information about Melbourne
- Good sized group
- Nice walk through the city
- Enjoyable time spent
- Learned something new


Negatives:
- Guide often read from a set of printed material. It took away from our opinion of the guide as expert, and reduced the 'performance'/interaction side of the tour.
- The (optional) stop at the coffee shop at the end of the tour is definitely best avoided: rude service, and a slice of (very average) cake is $8!

Overall, well-recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank matthewradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELTours, Owner at MELTours, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks for your review Matthew. Its been interesting to read it, look at the tour and conversed with others on that History East tour and our other guides. I think that this issue was with the content not being as compelling as we could have made it, sometimes a bit too heavily loaded with dates and not having the benefit of a slightly inadequate development cycle. I think I started to believe my own press and didnt apply the same rigor as we brought to bear on our other excellent tours many reviewed here. Based on feedback from other customers on the tour and one of our best guides on the tour the next day, you have seen us referring to our notes which is something we allow as we would rather read accurate details than tell you inaccurate ones from the top of our heads. You have called it reading from the notes which is fine as its your opinion. When some of our guides have over 20 hours in total of tour content in their heads, we dont expect them to be super-human and remember everything. But I think this was seen as a problem after the tour itself was only at a very good level as you indicated. Like you, we want excellence every time and I agree it wasnt seen then but we have fine tuned it within a few days by adding a bit here and there, streamlining or removing some items particularly at the start so I believe we have the excellent tour that we have run from the 16th Feb that you are welcome to come and try a future date when you are next in town for free to see for yourself. As the comments regarding Pelliginis, I have no comment as they arent a partner providing coffees as part of the tour but simply a place customers may go after the tour is finished - on their own time. Again, thanks for the review - it has helped us take the last step to excellence on this the History East tour - the latest in our large portfolio. Regards, Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    31
    4
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waikato
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Laneways tour is recommended - entertaining & good value”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The laneways tour was very good, knowledgeable & entertaining guide. The tour took about 2and half hours followed by a good lunch at Febderation Square. There were only 6 people on our tour, so it was a good group. The only minor suggestion for improvement was that the instructions given when we booked as to how to find the guide were lacking specificity, but we found her OK.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank R_and_D_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELTours, Owner at MELTours, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks for the review and your comments regarding the lunch provided by such partners as Jolimont Expresso. Kathy is a great guide and does know her town. Regarding finding the guide, we are specific on the location of the guide, to look for the yellow bag and a clear picture or 2 of the location. Thanks for telling me what you was your experience. We find that when customers assume the tour is starting from inside the Melbourne Visitors Centre (MVC), the MVC are aware of what we do or we are associated with the MVC, confusion is usually seen. We want to work closely with the MVC but they are still coming to terms with such operations as ourselves even after the passage of a number of years. Very few of our customers have trouble with much more than seeing the yellow bag across what can be a busy square so we are happy with our information at the moment but keeping an eye out for possible improvements. Bye, Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I had a visitor and wanted to show her the architectural beauty of Melbourne. How lucky was I to book a tour with MELtours. We had Jerome as our tour guide. He is professional, informed and most passionate about this city and its interesting and diverse architecture. Seeing some of the buildings also from the inside and listening to the information was a delight. The tour lasted for 2 1/2 hours and then we were invited for coffee. When we told Jerome how happy we were with our tour he told us that all the other guides at MELtours have the same dedication for their job. I look forward to taking my next visitor on a MELtour and might even do one sometime soon just on my own.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELTours, Owner at MELTours, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thanks Bridgette, we love our architecture and its surprising how diverse it is for only a 176yo city! We love that you saw this and enjoyed hearing about the stories behind the buildings both old and recent. It was a pleasure to have you on tour and I hope to see you again soon! Regards Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great Tour”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Excellent tour. It was very interesting and informative.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Djiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELTours, Owner at MELTours, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We are happy you liked the tour and hope to see you again. Regards, Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended - Rediscover Melbourne's History”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

With Melbourne being our home Capital, we thought we knew it like the back of our hand. Taking short cuts in and out of lane ways, passing buildings in the hustle and bustle without really noticing them.
Until we joined Meltours with Jerome, our extremely informative guide, who took us on a wonderful journey of approx 21/2 hours.
Winding our way in and our of quaint lane ways from Flinders Street to Collins, Bourke and up to Spring Street. Being shown amazing buildings and architecture, listening to fascinating stories and the history behind them all. Thank You :))

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELTours, Owner at MELTours, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks Mazz - glad we finally got you on a tour and this one is our new East tour (Shhh - dont tell the opposition ;) Its great that we are able to decide we needed to cover the East side of town, walk around and design the tour, test it and run it - and this was the first for customers and we were able to entertain first pop! I hope our customers from what we call the 'West' tour come over and try this one out too! Bye, Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MELTours also viewed

 

Been to MELTours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing