We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Day Tour -Dandenong and Puffing Billy half day tour.”

Melbourne's Best Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 92.72*
and up
Mt Buller Snow - Sightseeing
Ranked #77 of 307 Tours in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking for premium tours operating in Melbourne? Look no further that Melbourne’s Best Tours. We offer luxury small group tours which means you get the personalised service you deserve!With the largest range of small group tours available you will be looked after with the comfort, style and the attention to detail that makes us Melbourne’s Best Tours. With tours ranging from the City Sights to Great Ocean Road and everywhere between we have something for everyone. The smaller group size leads to a relaxed atmosphere allowing more interaction between all on board and allowing us to visit more destinations and spend more quality time in each place!Unlike many other small group operators all our vehicles are seat belt equipped to ensure the safety of our guests. Relax in style with our smaller coaches offering air-conditioning, comfortable reclining seats and tinted windows.Let our Melbournian tour guides show you the sights and experiences that make them so passionate about the city they call home!
Reviewed 2 January 2017

To celebrate my daughters sixth birthday on December 20. 2016 -a surprise treat for her , but a gloomy rainy day scaring many tourists away.
We had a wonderful time with our kind guide Khalid, a scholar and gentleman. As the Dandenongs were under cloud, he took us to Chocolatier in Yarra Glen as an extra treat for my daughter. The country drive, the Sulfur crested cockatoos, the temperate rainforest vista, puffing billy and the Chocolatier experience - all marvellously refreshing.
Khalid has mastered the art of customer service - this tour, and I imagine any other with this company, is highly recommended.

1  Thank markhavlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Aww, it absolutely warmed all our hearts here at the office reading your review! Thank you for sharing your daughter's special day with us - and what a special day that was. We're so happy to hear you had a wonderful time with Khalid, and if you'd like to plan another surprise treat in the future, please don't hesitate to get in contact with us. Until then, take care and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the great ocean road"
in 57 reviews
"day trip"
in 20 reviews
"small group"
in 18 reviews
"twelve apostles"
in 12 reviews
"puffing billy"
in 9 reviews
"driver guide"
in 9 reviews
"actual tour"
in 2 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 2 reviews
"phillip island"
in 11 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 4 reviews
"loch ard gorge"
in 5 reviews
"aat kings"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 2 reviews
"included lunch"
in 2 reviews
"apollo bay"
in 5 reviews
"great tour"
in 7 reviews
"penguin parade"
in 5 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

We joined the one day Great Ocean tour with 12 Apostles, it was a very good trip. We saw a lot along the Great Ocean Road and our tour guide, Peter, was very good which made our trip much more enjoyable. It was a long ride but he drove very well. He explained the attractions while driving. He arranged everything for us and also walked with us in some of the attractions, we appreciated his professionalism. The lunch was good in Apollo Bay. 12 Apostles is a must see in Melbourne. This is a very recommendable tour.

Thank Dreamliner80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hi Dreamliner80, thank you for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you had a great time with Peter on your Great Ocean Road tour. Indeed, you're right on the ball - the 12 Apostles is a must see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We booked a Full Day Tour on 30th Nov, only 12 of us are in Van. I was hoping for a Bus. It's uncomfortable for 3 hours long ride back and forth. The tour guide was Khalid, he was late 10 minutes before the actual journey of tour. All of us waited for him. Also, he did not go down and guide us to attraction places. Apart from all this, the view of National park was breathtaking and lunch was yummy.

Thank MissTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hi MissTraveler78,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We're sorry to hear that you didn't get the experience that you expected. On the day of the tour, traffic was busier than usual, which made Khalid arrive later than usual. We apologise about this; although we try our best in taking all measures to be timely, sometimes traffic is out of our hands. With regards to the bus, the bus that you were on was a 24-seater to accommodate for your group of 13 on the day. It's unfortunate to hear that you had found your time on the bus uncomfortable; we do try our best by giving larger coaches that cater beyond the number of passengers, to ensure that they have more freedom in choosing where they would like to sit.

With regards to the itinerary itself, as all of the attractions are in open space, we like to give our guests the freedom to roam around as we drop them off at each location. This is so the trip feels more personal to our guests. Our driver guide, Khalid, would have also been there with you, offering to take photos if you'd like. However, we understand that each guest is different, and appreciate your feedback on providing more guidance while at the attractions. We will take that onboard in our next review of our tour operations.

We hope that overall your trip was a good one. Indeed the National Park is absolutely beautiful - thank you for making us a part of your time here in Victoria and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Had a great tour to Phillip island with our lovely tour driver Khalid. If you enjoy wildlife and beautiful views, you will enjoy this tour. We were given useful information by our tour guide, enough time to enjoy the stops and even dropped close to our city accomodation. This tour offers a convenient way to see the penguins, which come out after sunset, by taking away the hassle of driving back at night. I didn't expect to find the other wildlife stops along the way particularly exciting, but I did really enjoy feeding the wallabies and kangaroos as well as watching koalas move around (rather than just sleep). We were fortunate to be in a small tour group, have good weather and to be ahead of the many other tour buses doing a similar trip. The dinner options are far from extensive so I would consider taking a packed lunch if that will be problematic for you. For the discounted price I paid for this tour (about $90), I think it was worth it.

Thanks to Khalid for making it such a relaxed and comfortable experience.

Thank nnat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hi nnat14,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with Khalid, who is one of our best here at Melbourne's Best. Safe travels, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Had a wonderful and great experience with Melbourne's Best Day Tours to the 12 Apostles and Penguin Tour. Our driver and guide Khalid was beyond terrific and made us feel at home. The tour bus only had 6 people total and made it more intimate. Khalid was very friendly and professional, I would recommend him to all my relatives and friends that visit Melbourne. The Penguin Tour was excellent and had a wonderful experience. Highly recommend this company as a day tour!

Thank CL77USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Guest Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2017

Hi CL77USA,

We're delighted to hear that you had a great day out with Khalid! Indeed, he loves his job and it clearly shone through on your tour with him. Thank you for choosing to travel with us, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melbourne's Best Day Tours also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne's Best Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing