We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Melbourne's Best Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Melbourne's Best Tours
from USD 108.86
More Info
from USD 87.09
More Info
from USD 68.95
More Info
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
145
40
5
4
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
40
5
4
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour the great ocean road puffing billy beautiful scenery phillip island loch ard gorge great tour guide apollo bay gray line penguin parade federation square chocolate factory khalid apostles driver company koalas
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We had a fantastic day trip to the 12 Apostles. Our tour guide, Khalid, was fun and knowledgable regarding the area and its history and I enjoyed talking with him throughout the day. The Apostles are spectacular and we were lucky to have glorious weather for the whole day! We took the "Apostles Direct" tour, and we didn't realise that this tour doesn't go all along the Great Ocean Road, but we all took a vote and Khalid took us on a more scenic route that did include Great Ocean Road after all...this is something to check before deciding which tour to do. Next visit to Melbourne we will use this company to do the penguin tour, which we didn't have time for on this trip. Highly recommended for all ages!

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank J_C201271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbournesBestTours, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi J_C201271, thanks for your review! It was a pleasure to have you onboard and we're so glad to hear that you had a great time with Khalid. Sorry to hear that you didn't have time for the penguins this trip - but it's all good because that just means you've gotta come down another time! We look forward to seeing you then! -MichW, Melbourne's Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Party of 3 travelled 15th Dec. We also had Khalid as our guide which was a blessing as it really made the day. Yes the bus was old and had seen better days but Khalid made the trip a truly memorable experience. He changed the planned route to ensure we saw as much of th GOR as possible stopping on numerous occasions for photo opportunities. He was a mine of information and truly seems to enjoy what he does for a living. Many thanks to Khalid for his work on the day and the photos he subsequently sent us.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Coxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbournesBestTours, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Many thanks to you Coxy for such a wonderful review! We're very happy to hear that you had a marvellous day with Khalid; indeed, he knows Great Ocean Road back to front, and always makes sure that his guests see as much as they can. We hope to see you again in the near future Coxy; until then, take care! -MichW, Melbourne's Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Actually, the tour was worth 4.5, but the rating choices wouldn't permit half values. With that in mind, in almost all aspects the tour wasn't "half-hearted". We saw a lot of dynamic ocean cliffs/tides, reigning rainforest areas, and wildlife such as koalas in trees, exotic birds eating out of our hands, and grazing kangaroos. We were looking for wallabies, but because the tour guide couldn't find any, he took us to a cottage resort where kangaroos roamed freely (better than any wallabies). The two viewing stops for the Twelve Apostles rock formations on the ocean's edge were almost a religious experience. The free lunch was a nice extra that you didn't have to pay extra for. The guide, Khalid, was a wealth of information and anecdotes. He was very upbeat and an enthusiastic fan of what we were visiting. In addition, he was very accommodating. He even took the atypical step of taking photos of tour travelers on his camera and later sending the photos to their e-mail addresses. Of course, he was also more than willing to take photos on the travelers' cameras as well. He gave bird seed to those who wanted to feed some birds at one stop. He warranted a 5 out of 5 and also deserving of a high 5 gesture. . . . Now, I mentioned that I gave the tour a 4.5 overall rating. Why a little less than 5? Well, one reason was because the bus was smaller, and the the left side only had single seats against the window, So the people on the far right had a less potent view of ocean cliffs. (Note, however, the small bus had an advantage of better maneuvering along the sometimes very tight roadways.) We would have liked some of the return travel to be along the same getting-to-route so that the right side of the bus would have similar opportunities as the left. Also, there were some very "pesty", nipping sand flies and persistent regular flies at certain stops -- at least at the time we went (in the Australian spring/ November). Maybe some warning to perhaps bring some OFF might have helped a bit. . . . All in all, the Great Ocean Road Tour was great. It was a very full in both activities and time. We got the trip at a reduced rate, using a group-buying deal site, but in any case, the trip was well worth the price. We wanted to tip the guide, but in Australia, one tip is that they do not tip. Thus, that lowers the overall cost. In summary, don't shun the Great Ocean Road Tour.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank candidcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbournesBestTours, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi candidcanada, we're so pleased to hear that you had a great memorable day out! Khalid is indeed one of our best, striving to provide every guest with a full experience. Thank you for travelling with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in your next trip down under! -MichW, Melbourne's Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2015

Our group of 10 took the City tour, Phillip island and Great ocean road tours. As we had small children, we wanted to charter a small bus on our own. Melbourne Tours is the only agency which not allow us to customize, but also responded timely to my queries. Khalid, our tour guide, was very punctual, and he also took initiatives to help us take photos and sent to us. Thanks to Khalid, We had a few chances to see and took picture of koalas and echidna as we drove along the road.

Date of experience: November 2015
1  Thank Ctan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbournesBestTours, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks Ctan53 for your wonderful review! At Melbourne's Best, we believe that travel should be easily catered to your needs and it was our pleasure to help you create a tour that was personalised to your needs. We're so glad to hear that you had a phenomenal day with Khalid, and we hope to see you again in your next trip down under! -MichW, Melbourne's Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Khalid was our tour guide on this trip. He is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable in which making this long journey trip more fun. He guided us to take photos with the BEST views and positions. On the other hand, the trip arrangement sounds reasonable and provided sufficient time for us to stay on each of the attractions.

I enjoy this trip a lot. Thanks a lot, Khalid.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank LEO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbournesBestTours, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hey Leo, thanks so much for your review! We're so pleased to hear that you had a great day out with Khalid - indeed, he's one of our best and truly knows Victoria inside out! We look forward to seeing you again; until then, take care! -MichW, Melbourne's Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews