We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melbourne's Best Day Tours
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Melbourne's Best Day Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Melbourne's Best Day Tours
from USD 111.90
More Info
from USD 70.90
More Info
from USD 89.50
More Info
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
148
42
4
4
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
42
4
4
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the great ocean road day trip small group twelve apostles puffing billy actual tour phillip island wealth of information loch ard gorge aat kings included lunch apollo bay great tour penguin parade tour group chocolate factory federation square
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I couldn’t recommend this trip enough!! Our tour guide David made it such a great experience :) he was incredibly knowledgeable about the places we visited, the history of the area and could answer any question thrown his way. He ensured we had plenty of time at each stop and helped take pictures and chat at the stops. All we hoped for and more - thank you so much!!

Thank KatieC38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent day out with particularly good driver and guide, David. It was a long day starting at 8 am and back in Melbourne at 8.30 pm. David enhanced this most enchanting, beautiful trip with informative snippets on history and factual details, interspersed with local anecdotes. He was a good driver who made us feel welcome and comfortable on his bus. Would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Thank Mair53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly, I arrived at 7.30 as requested. Bus did not leave until 8.15am. The so called English commentary was terrible. If you are new to Australia do not take anything they say as gospel. An example was " kangaroos live in Ivanhoe", "lots of trees for koalas here".. I saw that but we did not stop to see any, plus there is also a huge decline in eucalyptus trees which is causing a huge decline in the koala population on the great ocean road..." we will be stopping in Colac, there be McDonald's and kfc but all the kids get no education so the are dealing drugs"... I would love to know where he got that information. Thank God I brought my own music to drown out the BS. Oh and kids jumping over seats, baby crying( I thought kids under 5 neaded car seats), I could go on but don't want to bore you all.

If you choose to do a tour, choose a different company. The great ocean road is beautiful, this terrible experience dampend the beautiful scenery. Not happy.

Thank RanaW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an awesome day trip, Bear our guide and driver gave a great commentary and loads of information
The weather was intermittent rain
But didn’t ruin the trip
Would highly recommend this trip

Thank francoandjanmaldero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our whole tour of The great ocean road, the drive was smooth, our driver was so helpful, he picked us up on time and gave us all essential information about the whole drive and spots.
The weather was extremely cold and the wind is very strong, it is advised to wear warm clothes.
Overall it was a delightful tour ride.

1  Thank nkeswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

This was the fourth Gray Line bus tour we have taken this week and was another enjoyable experience. We were picked up punctually from our hotel and taken to the main Gray Line departures point in Russell Street which is on the edge of Federation Square. The tour included a stop at the picturesque Churchill Heritage Farm and we also visited a koala reserve. To the delight of the numerous Chinese tourists on board Ben, the driver, stopped so they could watch a mob of kangaroos grazing and he also pointed out other wildlife. He did a quick tour of the penguin breeding grounds before dropping us off. We then joined hundreds of people watching rafts of little penguins make their dash up the beach to their burrows. Ben gave us a cheerful commentary on the way down, presented us with 10% discount vouchers and clearly outlined what to expect at each place we stopped. He also showed us a short documentary on the little penguins. I would thoroughly recommend taking any Gray Line tour and believe Ben and the other drivers are great ambassadors for Melbourne.

Thank Road663049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

My husband and I went on several coach tours while staying in Melbourne. We did the coast trip to the 12 Apostles rocks, the penguin island evening trip and a sightseeing trip around Melbourne, including Brighton and St. Kilda. All 3 drivers we had were excellent, very knowledgeable and friendly. The trips themselves are highly recommended. Gave us an all round view of Melbourne and its beautiful surroundings.

Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

A full day of activity. Easy to find location to meet the bus. The driver (John) was very knowledgeable about local history and events. He kept it interesting throughout the day. With only a small group it was pleasant to go to places that the big tours weren't going to. We visited 2 wineries and a chocolate factory in the Yarra Valley. Loved the boutique winery. Very informative presentation about their growing and manufacturing process. With lots of tasting thrown in.
Great lunch, albeit a bit rushed to enable us to make Puffing Billy. (But worth it) Fun ride along a historic track.
A great day with good company and an excellent driver/guide.

4  Thank Kelvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Horrible guide and experience. Ran late due to complete lack of clear instruction and then the guide had the audacity to blame the guests by lying about the actions of the passengers. The lateness resulted in missing all the important parts of the tour.

An example of the poor instruction was "head back to the red bus". Included in this review is a picture of the bus being referred to (it's the same colour all around).

I can also see the lies have continues in responses to reviews here so I would encourage people to have nothing to do with this company.

1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Horrible experience. We booked an english tour and found they had outsourced this to extragreen, a chinese tour group company.

We had never been to snow before and the guide gave 0 instructions or guidance on the tour. No different from if we had gone ourselves with no research and guessed what we should do. No indication of times. When the tour was running late becaude the guide gave no instructions on times during breaks he blamed it is everyone on the tour making it late. When we got to mt buller we had bo instructions about what or where we were going. Found the experience dangerous let alone not organised. We will be contacting for a refund. I have been on many tours and this is completely unacceptable.

2  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Melbourne's Best Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Samantha,

Thanks for taking the time to write into us about your experience.

I’m sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us on your tour.

We understand that when you booked the tour, you were looking for a great day out and it’s unfortunate that the tour arrangement did not match your expectations. This is especially true for the language of the tour; you had started tour expecting it to be in English, but it was actually a bilingual tour. This is an oversight on our end, and we will update on our website that the tour may be a bilingual tour. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

As for the delay of your lesson — we’ve checked with your tour guide on the day, and he has informed us that upon arrival, he had informed everyone on your bus that you all need to follow him and get to the ski/snowboard rental place immediately. However, you went to the café first instead of lining up with the others. Between the time of your entire group lining up and your arrival, another bus of passengers had come in. Therefore, you had to line up at the very back of the line, unlike the others who followed your tour guide. This is why there was a delay with your lesson.

Given that the tour was not in the language you expected and you didn’t have a positive guiding experience, we would like to offer you and your friend the refund 50% of the transfer and guiding part of the tour. As you paid through PayPal, we will refund this amount directly to your account.

Thanks again for taking the time to write to us Samantha. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews