We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanes & Arcades walk”

Hidden Secrets Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 74.09*
and up
Melbourne Lanes and Arcades Walking Tour
More Info
USD 132.59*
and up
Melbourne Food and Wine Small-Group Walking Tour
More Info
USD 35.10*
and up
Golden Mile Heritage Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 98 Food & Drink in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Melbourne's Original Laneway Walking Tours. Indulge in a vibrant city with our Award winning walking tours through Melbourne's back streets and Laneways. Small groups, with creative local hosts enjoy the urban landscape that many locals miss. Discover intricacies of the past and the modern day in food and wine, fashion design, architecture and so much more. Just a few hours with us and so much of the city makes more sense. If you think you know Melbourne, then think again!
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Our guide, Amy, was very friendly and informative; she did a wonderful job and made our outing a lot of fun. This is a special side of Melbourne that everyone should experience.

Note: Do not pay for a lunch to be included (we were taken to a South American restaurant, ??), as there are SO MANY wonderful choices in the area.

2  Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours H, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear 5heartfamily
How lovely to see your review here, you must have been one of the last groups with Amy before she left us for a few months whilst she treads the boards up in Sydney for the musical Beautiful. We all love the way our guests interact and get to feel this side of Melbourne. A city full of options as you noted.
We do currently use a wonderful restaurant that is Peruvian in flavour, as they use locally produce, table service, plenty of room for our bookings, and have an interesting venue at the end of a lesser known laneway. We have many locals on our walks, so they love it, and there is no typical flavour here, so we like to have an offering a little different than readily available Mediterranean pasta or oriental dishes. But I can see you may have been wanting something else.
As you noted there are just so many cafes and restaurants in the city area, so that is why we do have a with our without lunch option for our guests.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our version of Melbourne and hope you enjoyed the rest of your Australian Adventure
Thank you for taking the time to write, and for your insights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I am a Melbourne local and received a voucher to do the Cafe and Coffee culture tour. I have to admit I was not expecting to much except to try new coffee places. BUT IT WAS SO MUCH MORE. Our guide, Fiona, was a wealth of information about the history of Melbourne and answered all our question with great detailed.
The tour weaved through the lane way stopping a historical points along the way some including a coffee taster (or hot drink of choice) and sweet treats. The tour ended with an amazing lunch all included in the cost of the tour.
So happy I discovered many new lane ways and hide a way restaurants to visit in future.

1  Thank Celeste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours H, Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Celeste - Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience with Fiona on our Cafe Culture Walk. The walk is definitely more than just coffee and we love that we were able to show you some new favourites for you to continue to enjoy! We hope to see you on one of our other walks in the future.
- The team at Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We did the Lanes and Arcades tour on our first day in Melbourne. Our tour guide was Nick and he was fabulous. He introduced us to the quirks of Melbourne's hidden lanes and gave us some really interesting history of the city. It was really helpful from a practical point of view too as it helped us with our bearings. The chocolate shop stop for a drink was great. Thank you to Nick and Hidden Secrets Tours. We had a wonderful time! Would highly recommend.

1  Thank MissGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours H, Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you MissGeordie for not only taking the time to review your recent Lanes and Arcades Walk, but also for your recommendation. We think our guide Nick is fabulous too, and are happy to read Nick guided you through a wonderful introduction to our city. We hope you continued to explore the city, or revisit some of the favourites shared during the walk!
- The team at Hidden Secrets Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This walking tour is an easy walk of about 2km and much of it under cover. Our guide, Rachael, was very informative and keen to ensure that everyone enjoyed themselves. I enjoyed learning quite a bit about my home city and the history and development of different iconic buildings over time. My only criticism would be that the Eureka Stockade wasn't about gold. It's more important than that and foreign visitors would be interested in it. A read of Wikipedia on the topic would assist. Bring an umbrella if there's a chance of rain, no special walking shoes are needed. We had a 10.00am start and finished around 1.30pm. We took the lunch option which was in a Peruvian restaurant, which I found a little strange. I think I would have preferred a little cafe in a lane. Would recommend this tour to friends.

1  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenSecrets, Owner at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Ivan S
We so appreciate locals writing reviews here on Trip Advisor, we love sharing the quirkier stories with our visitors.
Yes we certainly agree the Eureka Stockade was not only about gold. Its importance in the union movement, the voice of workers rights, and the development of democracy, the 8 hour working day in Australia and more are all very important moments related to this event in Victoria' s history 1854. We do talk about the gold in this story in relation to the Eureka Tower, and the gold windows. It also is true that every tour is slightly different and depending on the group intrerests of the day, we may delve more or less into each topic. But we understand you may have wished more on the day of your tour, and take this on board with our training.
The Lanes and Arcades tour is offered with or without lunch. As you can imagine we want to have a spot booked for clients who decide to have lunch, and though all the lovely tiny laneway cafes are fun, we are not able to reserve places for our valued guests. We choose our lunch venues for their customer service, their food flavours, that they are Melbourne owned, and have visual interest as well. The Peruvian venue you noted is at the end ACDC lane.

We appreciate the opportunity to hear your thoughts, and welcome them. We also love as a local you are interested in soaking in more of you home town.
Thank you
Sincere regards
Fiona, Rachael and the team.
Hidden Secrets Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

My wife & I did the Lane-ways & Arcades tour on Saturday, It was fantastic.
Our tour guide Louisa was forthcoming in a lot of info regarding every part of the tour.
She even gave a us incite to great venues to visit during our Melbourne stay.
Next time where in Melbourne we will do the Progressive dinner tour.
We highly recommend Hidden Secrets Tours.

1  Thank GJV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenSecrets, Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear DJV64 - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on our Lanes and Arcades Walk with our fantastic guide Luisa! We are so pleased to read you had a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you on one of our other walks next time you are in Melbourne. Thank you again for your review and recommendation of our tours.
- The team at Hidden Secrets Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden Secrets Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Secrets Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing